Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship David on pole, Beganovic 14th for FREC’s second Hungaroring race

David on pole, Beganovic 14th for FREC’s second Hungaroring race

by Ida Wood

Photo: Niels Broekema / DPPA

Hadrien David will start from pole for Formula Regional European Championship race two at the Hungaroring.

David set the first representative flying lap of Group B, a 1m39.498s, but he was quickly bumped off top spot by Trident’s Roman Bilinski who was able to break into the 1m38s with his first lap of the day at pace.

At this point all of Prema’s drivers were at the bottom of the timesheet, while Race Performance Motorsport’s Pietro Delli Guanti shuffled David down to third place.

R-ace GP duo David and Gabriel Bortoleto then went to the top of the times, before Bilinski shuffled them down again to hold provisional pole going into the final five minutes.

Only a minute later did title contender Paul Aron finally set a frontrunning lap, jumping from the back to third place, but the pace was still improving. David and Bortoleto got faster but couldn’t better Bilinski, and then FA Racing’s Victor Bernier snuck into second between them.

With 50 seconds remaining, Aron launched himself into first place with a 1m38.514s lap, which Bilinski couldn’t match.

Delli Guanti went 0.017s slower than Aron to get into second, then after the chequered flag the two R-ace drivers came across the line. David set a 1m38.185s, putting him top of the group, and Bortoleto posted a 1m38.242s which meant Aron was knocked down to third.

Knowing he would start no higher than fifth, Aron hoped title rival and Prema team-mate Dino Beganovic would struggle similarly in Group A. That proved to be the case, as ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini and Trident’s Tim Tramnitz, who retired from race one with gearbox issues, disputed top spot.

Mini was fastest on each of the first three flying laps, before the track got dusty and nobody in the top eight improved after that until after the chequered flag when R-P-M’s Owen Tangavelou jumped up to fourth.

The benchmark 1m38.468s lap set by Mini was slower than David’s best meaning he will start from second on the grid, and the even numbered grid slots behind will be filled by Tramnitz, Leonardo Fornaroli (Trident), Tangavelou, Joshua Dufek and Kas Haverkort (both Van Amersfoort Racing) and Beganovic. Late on Haverkort and Beganovic had laps deleted over track limits, and set identical best laps, but it did not impact their placing. Points leader Beganovic will start from 14th place.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m38.185s
2 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m38.468s
3 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m38.242s
4 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m38.591s
5 Paul Aron Prema 1m38.514s
6 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m38.667s
7 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m38.531s
8 Owen Tangavelou R-P-M 1m38.685s
9 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m38.623s
10 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m38.729s
11 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m38.643s
12 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m38.738s
13 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m38.668s
14 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m38.738s
15 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m38.696s
16 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m38.809s
17 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m38.772s
18 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m38.929s
19 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m38.774s
20 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m38.975s
21 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m38.874s
22 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m39.041s
23 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m38.977s
24 Noel Leon Arden 1m39.098s
25 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m39.083s
26 Andrea Rosso R-P-M 1m39.184s
27 Levente Revesz Van Amerfoort Racing 1m39.190s
28 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m39.390s
29 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m39.445s
30 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m39.424s
31 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m39.974s
32 Francesco Braschi MP Motorsport 1m39.563s
33 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m40.546s