Home News David Malukas wins Pro Mazda season finale at Portland

David Malukas wins Pro Mazda season finale at Portland

by Ida Wood

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

David Malukas took his third win of the season in the Pro Mazda season finale at Portland.

The BN Racing driver started second and emerged from the first corner chaos on lap one in the lead. A caution period prevented him from immediately capitalising on the position gain, but once the cars were released he was unrivalled.

Rinus VeeKay, who secured the title in the previous race, spent most of the race with old USF2000 rival and Portland race one winner Oliver Askew in his mirrors. On several occasions they got close, but Askew couldn’t find a way past and had to settle for third in the race and standings.

Askew’s Cape Motorsports team-mate Nikita Lastochkin finished a lonely fourth, with Parker Thompson and Sting Ray Robb also meeting the chequered flag but not on the lead lap.

Thompson suffered a rear right puncture on the first lap, and after pitting for a new tyre kept himself busy going for fastest lap. The Exclusive Autosport man failed in doing that, but the extra point he gained would’ve had no impact on his spot as runner-up to VeeKay.

There were only eight cars present, with Portland being located a significant distance away from team bases. One such team that didn’t turn up was RP Motorsport, meaning two-time winner Harrison Scott ended the season eighth in the standings.


Race results (30 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 David Malukas BN Racing 34m14.753s
2 Rinus VeeKay Juncos Racing +3.5821s
3 Oliver Askew Cape Motorsports +3.8847s
4 Nikita Lastochkin Cape Motorsports +41.9233s
5 Parker Thompson Exclusive Autosport +1 lap
6 Sting Ray Robb Team Pelfrey +11 laps
Ret Robert Megennis Juncos Racing
Ret Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing
Pole: VeeKay, 1m05.8973s? ? ? Fastest lap: Askew, 1m07.909s

Championship Standings
?VeeKay 419? ?2 Thompson 358? ?3 Askew 312? ?4 Malukas 302? ?5 Megennis 274? ?6?Carlos Cunha 252? ?7 Robb 239? ?8?Harrison Scott 223? ?9 Lastochkin 218? ?10?Charles Finelli 143