Home Featured Daruvala wins again at Abu Dhabi to cut Zhou’s Asian F3 points lead

Daruvala wins again at Abu Dhabi to cut Zhou’s Asian F3 points lead

by Josh Suttill

Photo: Red Bull Content Pool

Mumbai Falcons’ Jehan Daruvala fended off Formula 4 graduate Isack Hadjar to win the second Asian Formula 3 race of the weekend at Yas Marina Circuit.

Daruvala triumphed in the weekend opener and eclipsed Evans GP driver Hadjar’s best race lap by just 0.006s to secure pole for race two.

The Formula 2 regular led at the start of the race, but Hadjar remained in second place close behind the Red Bull junioe.

At 10 minutes into the race, Hadjar and fellow F4 graduate Dino Beganovic ran three-wide with Daruvala for the race lead but miraculously Daruvala – in the middle of the trio – held the lead at the end of the second long straight.

Daruvala continued to come under pressure from Hadjar and the cars behind, but he managed to resist to take his second successive race victory and cut Alpine Formula 1 junior Guanyu Zhou’s championship lead to three points.

Second place marks Frenchman Hadjar’s best result of the season while Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema’s Beganovic completed the podium, this time avoiding the last-lap heartbreak of an engine failure that cost him fourth place in race one.

His team-mate Zhou was forced to settle for the weakest finish of his campaign so far in fourth place, one place ahead of race three poleman Pierre-Louis Chovet (Pinnacle Motorsport) and Evans GP’s Patrik Pasma.

Sim racer Cem Bolukbasi matched his best result of the season in seventh place for BlackArts Racing, ahead of F2 driver Roy Nissany (Hitech GP). The top 10 was completed by Nissany’s team-mates Roman Stanek and Ayumu Iwasa.

Race results (16 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jehan Daruvala Mumbai Falcons 30m48.071s
2 Isack Hadjar Evans GP +0.268s
3 Dino Beganovic Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.905s
4 Guanyu Zhou Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +1.692s
5 Pierre-Louis Chovet Pinnacle Motorsport +4.258s
6 Patrik Pasma Evans GP +10.432s
7 Cem Bolukbasi BlackArts Racing +11.985s
8 Roy Nissany Hitech GP +14.169s
9 Roman Stanek Hitech GP +16.672s
10 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP +18.312s
11 Kush Maini Mumbai Falcons +19.055s
12 Alexandre Bardinon Pinnacle Motorsport +29.747s
13 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +33.934s
14 Nicola Marinangeli Motorscape +34.338s
15 Alessio Deledda Pinnacle Motorsport +46.785s
16 Matthias Luethen Pinnacle Motorsport +47.595s
17 Amna Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +47.940s
18 Irina Sidorkova Evans GP +54.675s
19 Rafael Villagomez BlackArts Racing +59.687s
20 Roberto Faria Motorscape +1m38.735s
21 Lorenzo Fluxa BlackArts Racing +1m43.805s
Ret Casper Stevenson Evans GP
Fastest lap: Daruvala, 1m54.686s

Championship standings
1 Zhou 80   2 Daruvala 77   3 Chovet 69   4 Hadjar 64   5 Beganovic 61   6 Nissany 47   7 Iwasa 31   8 Pasma 23   9 Bolukbasi 22   10 Ushijima 10