Home Featured Dan Ticktum takes back-to-back Macau GP victory

Dan Ticktum takes back-to-back Macau GP victory

by Josh Suttill

Photo: Macau Grand Prix

Dan Ticktum took his second successive Macau Grand Prix victory, in a race-marred by a high-speed shunt for Sophia Floersch.

Motopark driver Ticktum converted pole into the race lead on the opening lap, while Carlin?s Sascha Fenestraz used his four fresh tyres to sweep past both his team-mate Callum Ilott and Ticktum’s team-mate Joel Eriksson to snatch second place.

The safety car was required when Marino Sato, Alex Palou, Charles Leong and Keyvan Andres collided at Lisboa, and the?race was red flagged three laps later on the restart when Van Amersfoort Racing’s Floersch was launched over TOM’S driver Sho Tsuboi at Lisboa at the same corner and breaching the catch fencing.

Floersch is ?conscious? and has been taken to hospital along with Tsuboi, as well as ‘three further individuals, two photographers and one marshal’, according to a statement from the FIA.

Eriksson passed Fenestraz for second on the restart after the one-hour red flag delay, but was unable to catch Ticktum, who handled another safety car restart when Hitech GP driver Enaam Ahmed crashed. In the latter part of the race, Ticktum starting setting fastest laps, pulling away to?become the third driver to retain his Macau crown in the past decade.

“I don’t think I ever prepared as hard for a race as this. I’ve never felt so involved or at one with a car before,” Ticktum said after victory.

Eriksson took second with Fenestraz completing the podium, beating Asian Formula 3 championship leader Jake Hughes, European F3 champion Mick Schumacher, and his Prema Theodore Racing team-mate Ralf Aron.

Juri Vips was one of the biggest losers on the opening lap, dropping to 10th?from seventh on the grid, but was able to claw his way back to seventh place, ahead of??Ilott, who sank down the order in the second part of the race.

Prema’s Macau rookies Marcus Armstrong and Robert Shwartzman completed the top 10, with 2017 Macau star Ferdinand Habsburg finishing 11th, ahead of Guan Yu Zhou, who charged from 24th to 12th. Ritomo Miyata was the best of the Japanese F3 contingent, two places further back.


Race results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Dan Ticktum Motopark 15 laps
2 Joel Eriksson Motopark +1.208s
3 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin +2.505s
4 Jake Hughes Hitech GP +3.521s
5 Mick Schumacher Prema Theodore Racing +4.542s
6 Ralf Aron Prema Theodore Racing +6.406s
7 Juri Vips Motopark +6.952s
8 Callum Ilott Carlin +8.340s
9 Marcus Armstrong Prema Theodore Racing +9.597s
10 Robert Shwartzman Prema Theodore Racing +11.840s
11 Ferdinand Habsburg Motopark +12.793s
12 Guan Yu Zhou Prema Theodore Racing +13.461s
13 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +13.985s
14 Ritomo Miyata TOM’S +16.934s
15 Yuhi Sekiguchi B-MAX Racing +18.697s
16 Frederik Vesti Van Amersfoort Racing +19.773s
17 Toshiki Oyu Toda Racing +23.348s
18 Yoshiaki Katayama Carlin +32.873s
19 Sena Sakaguchi Toda Racing +35.245s
20 Ryuji ‘Dragon’ Kumita B-MAX Racing +1m48.963s
Ret Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP
Ret Sho Tsuboi TOM’S
Ret Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Ukyo Sasahara ThreeBond
Ret Marino Sato Motopark
Ret Alex Palou B-MAX Racing
Ret Charles Leong Hitech GP
Ret Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing
Fastest lap: Ticktum, 2m10.246s