Home Formula 3GB3 Dalton holds off Robertson to win first Brands Hatch race

Dalton holds off Robertson to win first Brands Hatch race

by Peter Allen

Photo: BRDC F4

Jake Dalton became the first two-time winner in BRDC Formula 4 with victory from pole position in race one at Brands Hatch.

The MGR driver beat Ginetta Junior champion Charlie Robertson to top spot in qualifying on Saturday morning by 0.06 seconds around the tight Indy circuit.

In the race, Dalton kept first place at the start and stayed ahead of HHC?s Richardson to record his second straight victory after winning at the Silverstone opener. The result moves him into the championship lead.

?I knew if I could get off the line in the lead I would have a chance of controlling the race from there,? said Dalton afterwards. ?Charlie was putting me under huge pressure and was a little bit quicker than I expected him to be, and he managed to stay close to me.

?I?m delighted to claim the lead in the championship and at the moment that?s all that matters. It?s going to be extremely tough in race two starting from eighth and it?s going to be all about making that start count. I?ve got to go for it.?

American driver Falco Wauer completed the podium after holding third place throughout. Matthew Graham finished in fourth place after getting ahead of both Sennan Fielding and Jake Hughes.

Series debutant James Fletcher claimed a fine seventh place finish with a late pass on Silverstone winner Matt Bell, who will start race two from the reverse grid. Seb Morris made up ground from a poor qualifying to finish ninth ahead of Jack Barlow.

Race results

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jake Dalton MGR Motorsport 25 laps in 19:24.102
2 Charlie Robertson HHC Motorsport +0.175
3 Falco Wauer Team KBSports +2.729
4 Matthew Graham Sean Walkinshaw Racing +3.498
5 Sennan Fielding Douglas Motorsport +5.999
6 Jake Hughes Lanan Racing +6.682
7 James Fletcher Team KBS +8.724
8 Matt Bell MattRBell Racing Team E-Lites +9.332
9 Seb Morris Hillspeed +10.759
10 Jack Barlow Sean Walkinshaw Racing +11.515
11 Diego Menchaca MGR Motorsport +11.818
12 Struan Moore Hillspeed +12.082
13 Pietro Fittipaldi MGR Motorsport +14.392
14 Gustavo Lima HHC Motorsport +17.411
15 Luke Williams Chris Dittmann Racing +18.496
16 Ross Gunn Motionsport +20.686
17 James Greenway Frank T Greenway Racing +21.724
18 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport +26.561
19 Daniel Headlam Lanan Racing +35.601
20 Malgorzata Rdest Douglas Motorsport +39.085
21 Dylon Phibbs Chris Dittmann Racing +40.121
22 Simon Rudd Motionsport +41.438
23 Rahul Raj Mayer Hillspeed +42.681
Not classified
Zou Si Rui Sean Walkinshaw Racing 0 laps