Home Featured Crawford quickest in FIA F3 Hungaroring practice

Crawford quickest in FIA F3 Hungaroring practice

by Ida Wood

Photo: Red Bull Content Pool

Prema’s Jak Crawford went to the top of the times at the very end of the FIA Formula 3 Championship practice session at the Hungaroring.

Crawford was one of many drivers who had laps deleted due to track limits violations, and prevented him from occupying first place on the leaderboard earlier on, only making it permanently to the top after the chequered flag came out.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Franco Colapinto was the first driver on track and the first to set a representative pace, but running wide at the last corner meant that pace didn’t count for anything and it was Charouz Racing System’s Francesco Pizzi who was first to top the times.

Campos Racing’s Pepe Marti and David Vidales brought the pace down into the low 1m36s after the first 10 minutes of the session, by which point only seven drivers had set a lap, then a few minutes later the benchmark dropped rapidly as ART Grand Prix’s Juan Manuel Correa broke into the 1m35s, was bettered by team-mate Gregoire Saucy and then Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan set a 1m33.789s just a few seconds later.

That laptime was deleted though, putting MP Motorsport’s Alexander Smolyar into first place with a 1m34.000s lap.

His team-mate Kush Maini brought the pace back into the 1m33s, on a far busier track after a quarter of an hour of running, then O’Sullivan set another lap good enough for first place that he could keep but only put him ahead briefly as Smolyar set a 1m33.282s.

Title contenders Arthur Leclerc and Isack Hadjar were still yet to set a lap at this point, but after 22 minutes Hadjar went fastest with the first sub-1m33s lap. That went unbeaten until Crawford set a 1m32.509s with three minutes remaining, but that was deleted and Leclerc was in first when the clock hit zero.

Trident’s Zane Maloney toppled Leclerc after the chequered flag, then Crawford went a tenth faster than him to take top spot.

Practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jak Crawford Prema 1m32.473s 17
2 Zane Maloney Trident 1m32.573s +0.100s 16
3 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m32.641s +0.168s 15
4 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m32.694s +0.221s 14
5 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m32.717s +0.244s 16
6 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 1m32.721s +0.248s 17
7 Jonny Edgar Trident 1m32.756s +0.283s 18
8 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 1m32.757s +0.284s 16
9 Roman Stanek Trident 1m32.786s +0.313s 16
10 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.872s +0.399s 16
11 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m32.900s +0.427s 16
12 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m33.052s +0.579s 21
13 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m33.125s +0.652s 15
14 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m33.205s +0.732s 15
15 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m33.273s +0.800s 16
16 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.465s +0.992s 20
17 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m33.476s +1.003s 15
18 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1m33.504s +1.031s 20
19 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.656s +1.183s 14
20 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m33.674s +1.201s 19
21 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.829s +1.356s 15
22 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m33.867s +1.394s 13
23 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.990s +1.517s 16
24 Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP 1m34.248s +1.775s 16
25 Christian Mansell Charouz Racing System 1m34.431s +1.958s 22
26 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 1m34.612s +2.140s 17
27 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m34.627s +2.154s 15
28 Nazim Azman Hitech GP 1m34.972s +2.499s 10
29 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m35.028s +2.555s 19
30 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.439s +2.966s 16