Home Featured Beganovic takes provisional FREC pole in traffic-filled qualifying at Spa

Beganovic takes provisional FREC pole in traffic-filled qualifying at Spa

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: Co van der Gragt / DPPA

Dino Beganovic took pole for Friday’s first Formula Regional Europe race at Spa-Francorchamps, although stewards are investigating multiple drivers for deliberately coming almost to a stop on track.

Beganovic’s best time, a 2m15.292s set on his final lap, put him on top of Group A ahead of Prema team-mates Paul Aron and Sebastian Montoya.

After a disappointing Q1 on Thursday, ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini was fastest in Group B, out on track first in Q2, with a 2m15.790s. He joins Beganovic on race one’s front row.

With a significant advantage to be had from a tow on Spa’s long straights, drivers in both sessions repeatedly backed off, bunching the field up in a potentially dangerous fashion, although fortunately without any collisions caused after some took to the run-off. The stewards have announced an investigation into all the drivers involved.

The jostling was more egregious in Group A, the combination of cat-and-mouse antics and the need to warm up tyres in the earlier session meant that few drivers in Group B managed more than two flying laps.

MP Motorsport’s Sami Meguetounif was one of few to set three laps, going second fastest on his last lap, 0.184 seconds down on Mini, to earn a second-row grid slot.

Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli continued the team’s strong pace to go third in Group B, ahead of Race Performance Motorsport’s Pietro Delli Guanti. Alongside him on row three will be Arden’s Dudu Barrichello who is showing an improved form.

Lorenzo Fluxa was the fastest R-ace GP driver, fifth in Group B, one place ahead of Hadrien David who will start at the back due to an overnight engine change. His team-mate Gabriel Bortoleto is in the same situation.

David’s attempt to escape the compressed pack on the run to Blanchimont failed to pay off despite clear track.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort was fifth in Group A, ahead of Trident’s Roman Bilinski and Tim Tramnitz who looked to have more pace in hand.

G4 Racing’s Axel Gnos withdrew before qualifying due to getting injured in a Thursday crash, and his team protested Q1’s results (following complaints from rivals too) as a mix-up with the pitlane exit light which meant some drivers lost track time being held in the pits.

Though the protest was rejected on formal grounds relating to timing and means of submission, stewards it would have failed anyway, citing force majeure.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Group B Group A
1 Dino Beganovic Prema 2m15.292s
2 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 2m15.790s
3 Paul Aron Prema 2m15.561s
4 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 2m15.974s
5 Sebastian Montoya Prema 2m15.572s
6 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 2m16.158s
7 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 2m15.785s
8 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 2m16.225s
9 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 2m15.808s
10 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 2m16.250s
11 Roman Bilinski Trident 2m15.916s
12 Hadrien David R-ace GP 2m16.347s
13 Tim Tramnitz Trident 2m16.079s
14 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 2m16.413s
15 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 2m16.191s
16 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 2m16.588s
17 Esteban Masson ART Grand Prix 2m16.258s
18 Owen Tangavelou R-P-M 2m16.640s
19 Francesco Braschi FA Racing by MP 2m16.657s
20 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 2m16.702s
21 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 2m16.706s
22 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 2m16.763s
23 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 2m16.925s
24 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 2m16.801s
25 Noel Leon Arden 2m16.928s
26 Joshua Duerksen Arden 2m16.874s
27 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 2m16.967s
28 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 2m16.909s
29 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 2m17.684s
30 Nicola Marinangeli Monolite Racing 2m16.916s
31 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 2m18.138s
32 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 2m17.529s
33 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 2m17.683s
WD Axel Gnos G4 Racing