Home Formula 3GB3 Granfors edges Browning in pre-event GB3 testing at Silverstone

Granfors edges Browning in pre-event GB3 testing at Silverstone

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

There was little to separate GB3’s chief title rivals once again during the first day of pre-event testing at Silverstone, with Joel Granfors beating Luke Browning to the fastest time.

Fortec Motorsports’ Granfors posted a 1m53.514s on the Grand Prix layout to head Hitech GP’s Browning by 0.099 seconds in the opening session, and lapped almost 0.4s quicker in session two to remain at the top at the end of Thursday morning.

Callum Voisin led session three by 0.046s from Browning, but the Carlin driver recorded his best time in session two and ended the day third fastest.

Browning set his personal best in session four, where he edged Granfors by 0.006s, but ended up 0.146s behind the Swede overall.

Arden’s Nico Christodoulou also improved in the final session, going fourth fastest, 0.057s behind Voisin.

His team-mate Alex Connor was fifth, setting his personal best in session three, while Chris Dittmann Racing’s McKenzy Cresswell went sixth fastest in the final minutes of running.

Javier Sagrera (Carlin) and Tom Lebbon (Elite Motorsport) both put in their fastest efforts in session three to be seventh and eighth overall.

Hitech’s Bryce Aron was ninth, having set consistent times across all four sessions, and CDR’s Branden Lee Oxley was another late improver to be 10th. Ayrton Ori put in his first laps with CDR ahead of his debut, setting his best in session three.

Fortec also topped the times in GB4, as Nikolas Taylor recording a best effort of 2m01.200s to beat Kevin Mills Racing’s Jarrod Waberski by 0.275s.

Taylor and Waberski topped one morning session each, when the track was shared with GB3. A revised schedule enabled GB4 to run separately in the afternoon, and Waberski edged Taylor in a slightly slower session three.

Most of the field improved in session four, with points leader Max Marzorati ending up 0.327s off the pace in third ahead of team-mate Megan Gilkes. KMR’s Tom Mills was fifth ahead of Elite’s Jack Sherwood.

RossoVerde Racing’s Christian Lester was one of 11 cars on track, but had his transponder turned off. Graham Brunton Racing’s Logan Hannah was not in action, but is expected to take part on Friday.

Ceran Singh Sokhi, who has previously tested GB3 machinery for CDR and Fortec, tested a GB4 car with the latter during the day. The team was also running a Tatuus Gen2 Formula 4 car.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports 1m52.883s 55
2 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m53.029s +0.146s 59
3 Callum Voisin Carlin 1m53.369s +0.486s 65
4 Nico Christodoulou Arden Motorsport 1m53.426s +0.543s 57
5 Alex Connor Arden Motorsport 1m53.509s +0.626s 62
6 McKenzy Cresswell Chris Dittmann Racing 1m53.522s +0.639s 64
7 Javier Sagrera Carlin 1m53.589s +0.706s 53
8 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport 1m53.658s +0.775s 54
9 Bryce Aron Hitech GP 1m53.785s +0.902s 59
10 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing 1m53.844s +0.961s 56
11 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 1m53.857s +0.974s 49
12 John Bennett Elite Motorsport 1m53.866s +0.983s 53
13 James Hedley Elite Motorsport 1m53.912s +1.029s 59
14 Max Esterson Douglas Motorsport 1m53.919s +1.036s 57
15 Roberto Faria Carlin 1m54.101s +1.218s 58
16 Marcos Flack Douglas Motorsport 1m54.139s +1.256s 54
17 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m54.170s +1.287s 60
18 Nick Gilkes Hillspeed 1m54.206s +1.323s 64
19 Zak Taylor Fortec Motorsports 1m54.454s +1.571s 58
20 David Morales Arden Motorsport 1m54.476s +1.593s 60
21 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports 1m54.514s +1.631s 65
22 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport 1m55.019s +2.136s 58
23 Ayrton Ori Chris Dittmann Racing 1m56.021s +3.138s 60
1 Nikolas Taylor Fortec Motorsports 2m01.200s 63
2 Jarrod Waberski Kevin Mills Racing 2m01.475s +0.275s 48
3 Max Marzorati Hillspeed 2m01.527s +0.327s 50
4 Megan Gilkes Hillspeed 2m02.199s +0.999s 33
5 Tom Mills Kevin Mills Racing 2m02.262s +1.062s 46
6 Jack Sherwood Elite Motorsport 2m02.484s +1.284s 50
7 Jessica Edgar Fortec Motorsports 2m02.777s +1.577s 62
8 Marcus Short Hillspeed 2m03.535s +2.335s 55
9 Chloe Grant Graham Brunton Racing 2m03.708s +2.508s 58
10 Ceran Singh Sokhi Fortec Motorsports 2m06.672s +5.472s 42