Home Formula 4Italian F4 Crawford leads 37-car field in Italian F4 free practice at Imola

Crawford leads 37-car field in Italian F4 free practice at Imola

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ACI Sport

Jak Crawford set the pace on the first day of free practice for Italian Formula 4’s second visit of the season to Imola.

In total, 37 drivers ran in the four Wednesday sessions, the majority of which completed more than 50 laps.

Laptimes gradually improved over the course of the day, with Van Amersfoort Racing’s Crawford managing a 1m43.800s lap in FP4.

He was the only driver to lap sub-1m44s, with the next best driver being Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran, who managed a 1m44.279s.

Points leader Gabriele Mini was ninth quickest, ending the day 0.944s slower than Crawford. However the Prema driver showed strong pace in the earlier sessions, topping FP2 ahead of Ugran.

Turn 9 was an issue for a number of drivers over the course of the day. Track limits at the corner resulted in multiple drivers having their laptimes removed, though their were fewer cases in the later sessions as drivers got to grips with where the limits were, but both FP3 and FP4 were shortened due to red flag periods late in the session.

FP3 was called roughly five minutes before the scheduled end when Bence Valint ran into the gravel and it prevented him from contesting FP4. The incident prevented FP3 pacesetter Crawford from bettering his best lap.

FP4 started with a full course yellow as Conrad Laursen, driving for Prema, ran into the gravel at Turn 2. Another red flag was brought out 15 minutes before the end, but the session did resume once the incident was cleared. A handful of drivers managed to improve upon their laps, though none came close to Crawford before an off for BVM Technorace’s Pietro Armani brought out the red flags again with one minute on the clock.

Prema’s Gabriel Bortoleto had to abanadon the lap that would have put him in second place, and he ended the day third quickest ahead of VAR’s Francesco Pizzi, who jumped up the leaderboard with four minutes to go, Jenzer’s Santiago Ramos and Cram Motorsport’s Andrea Rosso.

Ferrari junior Dino Beganovic was eighth, behind team-mate Mini and head of Sebastian Ogaard (Bhaitech) and Kirill Smal (Prema). Those three were the only ones in the top 10 not to improve in FP4, with Mini’s best lap coming from the morning.

Iron Lynx’s Yaroslav Shevyrtalov joined Valint in missing the final session, while Bhaitech’s Zdenek Chovanec didn’t get on track at all over the day.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing 1m43.800s 58
2 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m44.279s +0.479s 60
3 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema 1m44.374s +0.574s 59
4 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.385s +0.585s 51
5 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport 1m44.509s +0.709s 57
6 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m44.587s +0.787s 58
7 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m44.656s +0.856s 58
8 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m44.685s +0.885s 59
9 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m44.726s +0.926s 56
10 Kirill Smal Prema 1m44.757s +0.957s 51
11 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m44.764s +0.964s 59
12 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m44.929s +1.129s 58
13 Ollie Bearman US Racing 1m44.954s +1.154s 50
14 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech 1m45.051s +1.251s 52
15 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.097s +1.297s 57
16 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Technorace 1m45.101s +1.301s 55
17 Pietro Armani BVM Technorace 1m45.151s +1.351s 49
18 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Technorace 1m45.156s +1.356s 46
19 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m45.269s +1.469s 54
20 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m45.354s +1.554s 57
21 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m45.371s +1.571s 55
22 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m45.458s +1.658s 56
23 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport 1m45.491s +1.691s 52
24 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport 1m45.565s +1.765s 55
25 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.612s +1.812s 49
26 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport 1m45.732s +1.932s 52
27 Vlad Lomko US Racing 1m45.742s +1.942s 52
28 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport 1m45.811s +2.011s 54
29 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.866s +2.066s 36
30 Yaroslav Shevyrtalov Iron Lynx 1m46.030s +2.230s 42
31 Noam Abramczyk BVM Technorace 1m46.398s +2.598s 54
32 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing 1m46.466s +2.666s 57
33 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m46.507s +2.707s 45
34 Tikhon Kharitonov Bhaitech 1m46.540s +2.740s 53
35 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport 1m46.577s +2.777s 56
36 Diego Contecha Mucke Motorsport 1m46.628s +2.828s 46
37 Elia Sperandio Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.014s +3.214s 58
38 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech no time