Home Formula 4Italian F4 Crawford ends Italian F4’s Vallelunga in-season test on top

Crawford ends Italian F4’s Vallelunga in-season test on top

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Jak Crawford once again led a Red Bull junior one-two for Van Amersfoort Racing on the second and final day of Italian Formula 4’s test at Vallelunga.

As on the first day, the 32-strong entry list was split into two groups for track sessions, with Crawford and team-mate Jonny Edgar placed into ‘Group D’ along with their Prema rivals.

It was ‘Group C’ that ran first, with Formula Regional European Championship cars also on track at the time, and it was Bhaitech’s Sebastian Ogaard who started the day on top by 0.075 seconds over Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli.

The second group was faster, with new series champion Gabriele Mini setting the pace ahead of Crawford in their first session.

Fornaroli didn’t improve in the second Group C session, with Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran surpassing Ogaard by just 0.011s to top their half of the draw.

The laptimes got even faster when Group D was moving again, and was when Crawford set the lap that would stand as the fastest of the test. He was 0.258s faster than team-mate Jonny Edgar, with Dino Beganovic slotting into third for Prema.

There was no sign of Beganovic’s team-mates Mini or Sebastian Montoya, but they returned in the afternoon and Mini topped the group’s third session by the smallest of margins over Beganovic. Crawford struck back in session four, although only US Racing’s Ollie Bearman and G4 Racing’s Axel Gnos actually improved on their best laptime of the day.

Ogaard and Ugran were again the Group C pacesetters in the afternoon, but Ugran’s final session benchmark was only good enough for 11th overall in the day’s combined classification.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.783s 91
2 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.041s +0.258s 99
3 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m33.288s +0.505s 84
4 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m33.324s +0.541s 62
5 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport 1m33.336s +0.553s 88
6 Tim Tramnitz US Racing 1m33.339s +0.556s 103
7 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.441s +0.658s 102
8 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema 1m33.447s +0.664s 83
9 Diego Contecha Mucke Motorsport 1m33.484s +0.701s 87
10 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m35.533s +0.750s 26
11 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.580s +0.797s 92
12 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m33.599s +0.816s 92
13 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.616s +0.833s 99
14 Kirill Smal Prema 1m33.681s +0.898s 87
15 Ollie Bearman US Racing 1m33.691s +0.908s 88
16 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.705s +0.922s 100
17 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m33.828s +1.045s 74
18 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m33.841s +1.058s 85
19 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m33.994s +1.211s 81
20 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m34.036s +1.253s 96
21 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Technorace 1m34.073s +1.290s 98
22 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.133s +1.350s 99
23 Kacper Sztuka Iron Lynx 1m34.157s +1.374s 94
24 Tikhon Kharitonov Bhaitech 1m34.176s +1.393s 89
25 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport 1m34.208s +1.425s 91
26 Yaroslav Shevyrtalov Iron Lynx 1m34.267s +1.484s 102
27 Elia Sperandio Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.303s +1.520s 72
28 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech 1m34.308s +1.525s 73
29 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing 1m34.562s +1.779s 81
30 Pietro Armanni BVM Technorace 1m34.629s +1.846s 92
31 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport 1m35.073s +2.290s 92
32 Pedro Perino DR Formula 1m36.794s +4.011s 89