Home Featured Collet on F3 pole at Spa, top four title contenders 20th or lower

Collet on F3 pole at Spa, top four title contenders 20th or lower

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Caio Collet took pole position in a mixed-up Formula 3 qualifying at Spa on a wet but drying track.

Joint championship leaders Isack Hadjar and Victor Martins will share the 12th row of the grid in 23rd and 24th, with third-placed Arthur Leclerc only managing 20th in the session.

Qualifying started in wet conditions. After the first 10 minutes, Ollie Bearman was quickest with team-mate Leclerc just a tenth of a second behind. But a stoppage just before the half way mark gave time for the weather to clear.

Jak Crawford – fourth in the championship – spun and came to a stop on track, bringing out the red flags with just over 19 minutes left on the clock. When the track turned green again, the remaining drivers felt the track was good enough for slick tyres.

Lap times tumbled throughout the second half of the session. Many drivers, including Hadjar and Martins, took turns at the front of the order. Traffic was also an issue, with Martins and Leclerc among those caught out at the final corner of their flying laps.

It was Roman Stanek leading in the closing minutes of the session when Hadjar came to a stop on track in the first sector. That incident brought out the yellow flags, but most of the field were still able to find improvements.

Zane Maloney found time on Stanek to take provisional pole before Collet set a time of 2m11.289s. The time was more than two tenths of a second clear of the rest of the field and earned him his first pole of the season.

Maloney took second ahead of unlikely second-row qualifiers Francesco Pizzi (whose previous best grid position was 19th) and Oliver Goethe, who improved late on to go fourth in his second F3 qualifying session.

Stanek dropped down to fifth, and will start alongside Jonny Edgar. Of the top five in the championship, Bearman was best-placed. He took the chequered flag to go eighth behind Alexander Smolyar. Completing the top 10 were Franco Colapinto and Brad Benavides, who had previously yet to qualify inside the top 20 in his rookie season.

Qualifying result
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 2m11.289s 11
2 Zane Maloney Trident 2m11.551s +0.262s 10
3 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 2m11.988s +0.699s 10
4 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 2m12.121s +0.832s 12
5 Roman Stanek Trident 2m12.135s +0.846s 11
6 Jonny Edgar Trident 2m12.135s +0.846s 10
7 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 2m12.149s +0.860s 12
8 Ollie Bearman Prema Racing 2m12.204s +0.915s 11
9 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 2m12.235s +0.946s 10
10 Brad Benavides Carlin 2m12.251s +0.962s 10
11 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 2m12.255s +0.966s 11
12 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 2m12.454s +1.165s 10
13 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 2m12.494s +1.205s 12
14 Enzo Trulli Carlin 2m12.672s +1.383s 11
15 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 2m12.687s +1.398s 10
16 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 2m12.716s +1.427s 10
17 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 2m12.726s +1.437s 10
18 David Vidales Campos Racing 2m12.955s +1.666s 11
19 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 2m13.140s +1.851s 11
20 Arthur Leclerc Prema Racing 2m13.191s +1.902s 11
21 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 2m13.645s +2.365s 12
22 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 2m13.921s +2.632s 12
23 Isack Hadjar Hitech Grand Prix 2m13.970s +2.681s 11
24 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 2m14.357s +3.068s 11
25 Christian Mansell Charouz Racing System 2m14.385s +3.096s 11
26 Kaylen Frederick Hitech Grand Prix 2m14.677s +3.388s 12
27 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 2m15.288s +3.999s 10
28 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 2m16.011s +4.722s 10
29 Nazim Azman Hitech Grand Prix 2m16.220s +4.931s 12
30 Jak Crawford Prema Racing 2m23.648s +12.359s 3