Home Featured Collet closes on Martins with Imola Formula Renault Eurocup win

Collet closes on Martins with Imola Formula Renault Eurocup win

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Francois Flamand / DPPI

Caio Collet closed the gap to Victor Martins in the Formula Renault Eurocup championship standings with a dominant victory in race one at Imola.

Collet leapfrogged pole sitter Lorenzo Colombo on the opening lap after the Bhaitech Racing driver cut through the gravel at Tamburello.

Further back, contact with Hadrien David sent Paul Aron out of control and he collected David Vidales on his way to the gravel at the same corner.

The safety car was deployed, bringing Colombo back onto Collet’s tail, but he had no opportunity to attack on the restart before another safety car paused action.

Gregoire Saucy span at the same corner as his ART Grand Prix team-mate Aron and beached himself in the gravel.

On the second restart the field managed to get through the corner without incident.

Collet got a good restart, pulling away from Colombo before a lock up at Rivazza brought the Italian driver back on his tail.

Colombo couldn’t find a way through and ran wide himself one lap later, dropping him into the clutches of Alex Quinn.

From that point onwards Collet was untouchable at the front of the field. He made no further mistakes and finished 4.362s ahead of the battle for second.

Quinn took second after running side by side with Colombo, then led a train of cars through the second half of the race.

Colombo came under pressure from Franco Colapinto late on and almost lost the final spot on the podium after he ran wide through the gravel, but Colapinto followed him through and neither car lost a position.

Martins himself ran wide after pressuring Colapinto and finished fifth, reducing his lead over Collet to eight points.

Hadrien David too sixth ahead of Reshad de Gerus and William Alatalo. Ugo de Wilde and Petr Ptacek completed the top 10.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Caio Collet R-ace GP 32m33.728s
2 Alex Quinn Arden +4.362s
3 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech +4.768s
4 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +5.411s
5 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix +6.494s
6 Hadrien David MP Motorsport +8.569s
7 Reshad de Gerus Arden +9.278s
8 William Alatalo JD Motorsport +9.757s
9 Ugo de Wilde Arden +11.040s
10 Petr Ptacek MP Motorsport +11.428s
11 Michael Belov R-ace GP +11.783s
12 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor +19.288s
13 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech +20.805s
14 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor +25.511s
15 Abbi Pulling FA Racing by Manor +1m01.395s
Ret Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix
Ret David Vidales JD Motorsport
Ret Paul Aron ART Grand Prix
Ret Laszlo Toth Bhaitech
Championship standings
1 Martins 257   2 Collet 249   3 Vidales 143   4 Colapinto 138.5   5 Quinn 124   6 Colombo 85   7 Saucy 83.5   8 Alatalo 76   9 de Wilde 66.5   10 David 53