Home News Christian Rasmussen wins stop-start first USF2000 race of 2020

Christian Rasmussen wins stop-start first USF2000 race of 2020

by Ida Wood

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Jay Howard Driver Development’s Christian Rasmussen led from lights to flag in USF2000’s season opening race at Road America.

The race was notable for several pace car periods which left minimal green flag running, and meant most overtakes occurred when drivers dropped out of the race.

Contact involving Rasmussen’s team-mate Nolan Siegel and Cape Motorsports’ Reece Gold on the opening lap was soon followed by the first pace car appearance.

Exclusive Autosport’s Christian Brooks was in second place at the time, but he lost several places on the first restart.

Cape’s Josh Green moved into second place, and while he couldn’t challenge Rasmussen he was able to hold on to his position through the remaining restarts.

Pabst Racing’s Matt Round-Garrido and Eduardo Barrichello battled over third place in between pace car periods, and Round-Garrido’s grip on the position was lost on the final restart to his team-mate.

Cape’s Michael d’Orlando had a trouble-free run to fifth, while Legacy Autosport’s Cameron Shields came from the back-end of the grid to claim seventh with several canny moves.

Brooks faded to eighth, while Pabst’s Yuven Sundaramoorthy and EA’s Prescott Campbell completed the top 10.


Race results (12 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Christian Rasmussen Jay Howard Driver Development 38m34.603s
2 Josh Green Cape Motorsports +0.6417s
3 Eduardo Barrichello Pabst Racing +1.5325s
4 Matt Round-Garrido Pabst Racing +2.3721s
5 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports +2.8546s
6 Christian Bogle Jay Howard Driver Development +3.7826s
7 Cameron Shields Legacy Autosport +4.7023s
8 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport +5.6036s
9 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing +5.9885s
10 Prescott Campbell Exclusive Autosport +6.4794s
11 Bijoy Garg Jay Howard Driver Development +7.2728s
12 Ayrton Ori Legacy Autosport +8.5977s
13 Josh Pierson Exclusive Autosport +8.9976s
14 Kyle Dupell Cape Motorsports +9.5263s
15 Max Kaeser Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +10.2930s
16 Wyatt Brichacek Jay Howard Driver Development +10.9775s
17 Nico Christodoulou DEForce Racing +2 laps
Ret Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports
Ret Reece Gold Cape Motorsports
Ret Nolan Siegel Jay Howard Driver Development
Fastest lap: Rasmussen, 2m11.678s