Home Formula 3Euroformula Title rivals Janosz and Stuvik lock out Euroformula Open practice at Spa

Title rivals Janosz and Stuvik lock out Euroformula Open practice at Spa

by Gruz David


RP Motorsport’s Artur Janosz set the overall fastest time of the day in the first Euroformula Open free practice session at Spa-Francorchamps.

The Pole was, impressively, seven tenths faster than anyone else on the grid in session one, with West-Tec’s?Yarin Stern leading the rest of the field.

FIA F3 regular Alex Toril, who returns to the EF Open series after finishing fifth in the standings last year, kicked off his weekend with a third place, followed by fellow Spaniard Alex Palou and Italian F4 driver Leonardo Pulcini, who is making his debut in the championship.

The RP Motorsport trio of Sandy Stuvik, Dzhon Simonyan and Andres Saravia took sixth, seventh and eighth respectively. The top ten was completed by Che One Lim and Yu Kanamaru.

Later, it was points leader Stuvik topped the second session, yet his benchmark time was almost six tenths off his teammate Janosz’s best lap.

Newcomer Pulcini improved his personal best lap to take second in the afternoon run as Stern, Lim and Saravia completed the top five.

Palou took sixth, followed by Pohler, Konstantin Tereshchenko, Toril and Janosz.

Combined practice results
Pos. Driver Team FP1 FP2
1 Artur Janosz RP Motorsport 2:16.370 2:17.651
2 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport 2:17.594 2:16.961
3 Yarin Stern Team West-Tec 2:17.098 2:17.332
4 Leonardo Pulcini DAV Racing 2:17.591 2:17.259
5 Che One Lim EmilioDeVillota Motorsport 2:18.005 2:17.380
6 Andres Saravia RP Motorsport 2:17.910 2:17.405
7 Alex Palou Campos Racing 2:17.510 2:17.429
8 Nicolas Pohler Team West-Tec 2:18.461 2:17.443
9 Alex Toril EmilioDeVillota Motorsport 2:17.454 2:17.603
10 Konstantin Tereshchenko Campos Racing 2:18.599 2:17.553
11 Yu Kanamaru EmilioDeVillota Motorsport 2:18.010 2:17.715
12 Dzhon Simonyan RP Motorsport 2:17.730 2:17.902
13 Christopher Hoher BVM Racing 2:18.191 2:17.734
14 Wei Fung Thong Team West-Tec 2:18.402 2:17.987
15 Tanart Sathienthirakul Team West-Tec 2:19.452 2:18.089
16 Costantino Peroni DAV Racing 2:18.910 2:18.569
17 Sean Walkinshaw Campos Racing 2:39.569 2:18.830
18 Saud Al Faisal RP Motorsport 2:19.170 2:19.159
19 Henrique Baptista DAV Racing 2:20.047 2:19.291
20 William Barbosa Corbetta Competizioni 2:19.967 2:19.319

Personal best time in?bold
Best time of session in?italics