Home News Cecotto and Baptista to race for RP in Formula V8 3.5

Cecotto and Baptista to race for RP in Formula V8 3.5

by Peter Allen
Vitor Baptista

Photo: RPM Racing

GP2 veteran Johnny Cecotto and Euroformula Open champion Vitor Baptista will race for RP Motorsport in its first season in Formula V8 3.5.

The Italian team is moving into the series formerly known as Formula Renault 3.5 after success in Euroformula Open, including Baptista’s 2015 title.

The 18-year-old Brazilian was a newcomer to European racing last year, after winning the B class in his native Formula 3 series.

Cecotto will be racing in the series for the first time, after 115 starts in GP2. Last year he said his career would be?over because he had lost his support from the Venezuelan government.

The announcement?of Cecotto and Baptista brings the number of confirmed drivers for the 2016 season up to 13 ahead of next weekend’s opening round at Motorland Aragon.

Formula V8 3.5 2016 line-up so far


Team Drivers
Arden Motorsport Egor Orudzhev Aurelien Panis
AVF Alfonso Celis Tom Dillmann
Fortec Motorsports Louis Deletraz Pietro Fittipaldi
Lotus Rene Binder Roy Nissany
RP Motorsport Johnny Cecotto Vitor Baptista
SMP Racing Matthieu Vaxiviere Vladimir Atoev
Teo Martin Motorsport Yu Kanamaru