Home Formula 3GB3 CDR’s Oxley wins restarted GB3 race three at Brands Hatch

CDR’s Oxley wins restarted GB3 race three at Brands Hatch

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Branden Lee Oxley scored a maiden GB3 win in a restarted final race of the weekend at Brands Hatch following an early crash.

Callum Voisin and Max Esterson came together at Hawthorns on lap one and crashed at high speed into the barriers, causing the race to be halted while the barriers were repaired.

The race was restarted based on the positions at the end of lap one, with Douglas Motorsport’s Marcos Flack sent to the back of the grid for jumping the original start from reversed-grid pole position.

Chris Dittmann Racing’s Oxley was promoted to the front for the new start, ahead of Hitech GP’s Cian Shields and Roberto Faria, with the order remaining the same when the lights went out.

Shields remained within half a second early on, but Oxley eventually edged clear to win by 0.923 seconds, with Faria finishing a further second behind for Carlin.

Oxley’s new team-mate Zak Taylor came home fourth, with Carlin’s Javier Sagrera fifth and Hillspeed’s Nick Gilkes sixth. McKenzy Cresswell was seventh for CDR ahead of Arden’s Alex Connor.

Luke Browning came from 16th to ninth, extending his championship lead over Joel Granfors, who failed to score. He damaged his front wing while running two places ahead of Browning and ended up as last of the finishers in 19th.

Race result (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing 13m29.579s
2 Cian Shields Hitech GP +0.923s
3 Roberto Faria Carlin +2.023s
4 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing +4.486s
5 Javier Sagrera Carlin +4.857s
6 Nick Gilkes Hillspeed +5.875s
7 McKenzy Cresswell Chris Dittmann Racing +6.160s
8 Alex Connor Arden +8.660s
9 Luke Browning Hitech GP +9.911s
10 Bryce Aron Hitech GP +13.668s
11 Nico Christodoulou Arden +15.147s
12 David Morales Arden +16.500s
13 Matthew Rees JHR Development +17.073s
14 John Bennett Elite Motorsport +18.130s
15 Marcos Flack Douglas Motorsport +21.183s
16 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +21.823s
17 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport +1m11.844s
18 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +1m13.167s
19 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports +1 lap
Ret Callum Voisin Carlin
Ret Max Esterson Douglas Motorsport
Ret James Hedley JHR Developments
Fastest lap: Browning, 1m19.602s

Championship standings
Browning 430   Granfors 414.5   3 Voisin 312   4 Faria 305.5   5 Lebbon 294.5   6 Rees 276.5   7 Esterson 269.5   8 Bennett 235.5   9 Sagrera 225.5   10 Connor 216.5