Home Formula 4British F4 Carter Williams takes maiden British F4 win at Thruxton

Carter Williams takes maiden British F4 win at Thruxton

by Bethonie Waring

Carter Williams

Carter Williams claimed his first British Formula 4 win with a faultless drive in race one at Thruxton.

The JHR Developments stormed into the lead on the opening lap after starting second, and was unchallenged throughout the 16 lap encounter.

Williams continued to build a gap to the rest of the field as Zane Maloney, Sebastian Alvarez, and Josh Skelton battled for the remaining podium positions.

He eventually finished 3.569s clear of the rest of the field to take his first win of the year.

Maloney broke through to second in just a handful of laps, having started fifth after a difficult qualifying. The championship leader started to close the gap to Williams, only to be reeled in by Alvarez and Skelton in the closing stages of the race.

A five second penalty for track limits dropped Maloney down the order on corrected timings, but it didn?t stop Alvarez battling for the position on track, and passed his championship rival?a handful of laps before the chequered flag to take second.

Skelton finished third ahead of pole-sitter Like Browning and Tommy Foster.

Maloney dropped to sixth with his penalty, with his championship lead over Alvarez dropping by 10 points to 44.

Third in the championship, Louis Foster also suffered a difficult race. After damaging his front wing early on, Foster came into the pits and dropped to the back of the field. He was able to get back on track, but was almost a lap down by the chequered flag.

Alex Connor and Alex Walker took seventh and eighth, with Reema Juffali and Roberto Faria completing the top 10.


Race results (16 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Carter Williams JHR Developments 20m05.678s
2 Sebastian Alvarez Double R Racing +3.569s
3 Josh Skelton JHR Developments +4.659s
4 Luke Browning Richardson Racing +7.925s
5 Tommy Foster Arden +10.413s
6 Zane Maloney Carlin +10.672s
7 Alex Connor Arden +12.857s
8 Alex Walker JHR Developments +22.799s
9 Reema Juffali Double R Racing +23.668s
10 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +25.208s
11 Mariano Martinez Fortec Motorsports +26.157s
12 Louis Foster Double R Racing +1m14.346s
Bart Horsten Arden
Fastest lap: Alvarez, 1m14.463s

Championship standings
1?Maloney 292? ?2?Alvarez 248? ?3?L Foster 222? ?4?Horsten 189.5? ?5 Skelton 187.5? ?6?Browning 146.5? ?7?T Foster 141? ?8?Williams 124? ?9?Joe Turney 111? ?10?Connor 96