Home Formula 4British F4 Carlin returns to British F4 for 2019

Carlin returns to British F4 for 2019

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Carlin will end its sabbatical from British Formula 4 with a return to the series in 2019.

The 2015, ’16 and ’17 titles were won by Carlin drivers, and the team has the most wins in the championship. After securing the ’17 title with Jamie Caroline, the team chose not to enter the 2018 season so as to concentrate on their new IndyCar and Formula 2 programmes.

Unspecified in how long it will last, the sabbatical will end after just one year, with an announcement on its 2019 line-up set to be announced in the coming weeks.

“We are thrilled to be heading back to the British F4 paddock for the 2019 season,” said team boss Trevor Carlin.

“The championship holds many happy memories for us – we won the inaugural season with Lando Norris who three years later is on his way to Formula 1 so we know that the championship is the perfect platform for young and talented drivers looking to launch their career in the best possible way.”

Carlin has retained all of its F4 assets, and has been testing drivers throughout this year, including world championship karter Zane Maloney, who is from Barbados.