Home Featured Camara first to finish, Bedrin wins another stopped F4 UAE race

Camara first to finish, Bedrin wins another stopped F4 UAE race

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: F4 UAE

Nikita Bedrin won Formula 4 United Arab Emirates’ restarted second race at Yas Marina Circuit as his opposition recieved penalties for failing to comply to a red flag procedure.

Prema’s Rafael Camara finished first on the road, but was classified second as the whole grid but Bedrin was penalised five seconds for “breach of Article 39.3”. Camara is now 26 points from the points lead with two races to go.

PHM Racing’s Bedrin led lap one, with Camara and Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema’s points-leading Charlie Wurz holding on to their starting positions behind.

The red flag was out not long after due to a three-car crash involving Miron Pingasov, Ricardo Escotto and Jef Machiels. Action resumed half an hour later for a 23-minutes race, and all the drivers minus Bedrin were reported to the stewards for failing to stop in the corresponding grid positions when the race was stopped [pictured above] and would later be penalised (before the decision was withdrawn and sent out again).

Bedrin led the restart while Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema’s Aiden Neate, who had lost fourth to MP Motorsport’s Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak at the start, dropped behind PHM’s Taylor Barnard. At the end of the lap, the safety car was deployed due to an incident involving Robert De Haan.

As the race progressed under green flags again, Neate and Hitech GP’s Alex Dunne moved past Inthraphuvasak and Barnard, who dropped down to eighth after being overtaken by Conrad Laursen.

The battle up front heated up with the top three within one second, and on lap six Camara passed Bedrin. He went on to build a gap, but it wasn’t enough to overcome his penalty to win.

The battle for third continued to the last lap, with Neate passing team-mate Wurz. Inthraphuvasak lost further places late on and finished eighth.

With three laps to go, Global Racing Service’s Vladislav Ryabov and PHM’s Jonas Ried came together while fighting for ninth and retired.

Race results (13 laps)

Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing
2 Rafael Camara Prema +2.201s
3 Aiden Neate Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +5.459s
4 Charlie Wurz Prema +6.221s
5 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +6.366s
6 Conrad Laursen Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +8.326s
7 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +9.161s
8 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak GRS +9.721s
9 Martinius Stenshorne 3Y by R-ace GP +15.900s
10 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +17.137s
11 Anshul Gandhi Cram-Hitech GP +17.883s
12 Ivan Domingues Xcel Motorsport +19.331s
13 Max Arkhangelskiy 3Y by R-ace GP +21.989s
14 James Wharton Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +24.567s
15 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Xcel Motorsport +26.990s
16 Christian Ho MP Motorsport +29.028s
17 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +29.121s
18 Nikhil Bohra 3Y by R-ace GP +29.349s
19 Michael Shin JHR Developments +29.626s
20 Sohil Shah Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +30.385s
21 Jamie Day Xcel Motorsport +35.640s
22 Kyle Kumaran Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +39.161s
23 Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev Xcel Motorsport +1m011.309s
NC Jonas Ried PHM Racing
NC Vladislav Ryabov GRS
Ret Robert De Haan Pinnacle Motorsport
Ret Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport
Ret Ricardo Escotto Cram-Hitech GP
Ret Jef Machiels Pinnacle Motorsport
Fastest lap: Camara, 1m55.559s

Championship standings
Wurz 233   2 Camara 208   3 Neate 199   4 Bedrin 190   5 Inthraphuvasak 153   6 Wharton 131   7 Dunne 127   8 Andrea Kimi Antonelli 117   9 Barnard 83   10 Stenshorne 71