Home Formula 2 Calado holds on to end win drought in Spa sprint

Calado holds on to end win drought in Spa sprint

by Peter Allen
James Calado

Photo: Alastair Staley/GP2 Media Service

James Calado secured his first GP2 win for over a year as he held off pressure from Julian Leal to win the sprint race at Spa-Francorchamps.

Calado started from pole position and kept the lead off the start, but gradually came under more pressure from Leal as the race wore on, winning by just 0.4 seconds.

Adrian Quaife-Hobbs surged from tenth to third on the opening lap and closed up to the two cars ahead of him in the closing stages as he added a podium in his second weekend with the Hilmer squad to add to the one he scored for his old team Manor MP in Monaco.

Stephane Richelmi had a very quiet run to fourth after dropping a couple of spots off the start. Stefano Coletti went from 13th to fifth on the first lap but later struggled with the set of option tyres he had on, plummeting down the order before pitting.

Fabio Leimer took fifth to bank some points towards his pursuit of championship leader Coletti. Jolyon Palmer was sixth and Johnny Cecotto was seventh, while Tom Dillmann claimed the final point in eighth. Felipe Nasr came through from the back of the grid to finish just behind Dillmann, but only after the Frenchman had cut the final corner to stay ahead.

Coletti keeps his six point margin over Nasr that he had coming into the weekend after both failed to score, but Leimer is now only a point behind Nasr. Sam Bird, who fell back to 14th in the race, is a further seven points behind while Calado’s win keeps him in touch another ten points back and now within a feature race win of Coletti.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 James Calado ART Grand Prix 18 laps in 36:21.338
2 Julian Leal Racing Engineering +0.447
3 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Hilmer Motorsport +1.532
4 Stephane Richelmi DAMS +17.905
5 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering +29.053
6 Jolyon Palmer Carlin +33.284
7 Johnny Cecotto Arden International +37.321
8 Felipe Nasr Carlin +40.455
9 Tom Dillmann Russian Time +41.052
10 Mitch Evans Arden International +43.421
11 Simon Trummer Rapax +44.373
12 Sergio Canamasas EQ8 Caterham Racing +45.170
13 Nathanael Berthon Trident Racing +45.987
14 Sam Bird Russian Time +47.459
15 Marcus Ericsson DAMS +50.141
16 Daniel Abt ART Grand Prix +50.726
17 Daniel de Jong MP Motorsport +50.818
18 Vittorio Ghirelli Venezuela GP Lazarus +53.466
19 Dani Clos MP Motorsport +54.532
20 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus +59.796
21 Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team +1:03.052
22 Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing +1:18.035
23 Stefano Coletti Rapax +1:21.639
24 Ricardo Teixeira Trident Racing +1:27.956
25 Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax Team + 1 lap
Not classified
Robin Frijns Hilmer Motorsport 1 lap