Home Formula 4British F4 Browning holds off O’Sullivan in reversed-grid Silverstone British F4 race

Browning holds off O’Sullivan in reversed-grid Silverstone British F4 race

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Luke Browning controlled the reverse grid Formula 4 race at Silverstone to take his sixth win of the season.

Despite a number of drivers battling for second place, Browning was unable to shake the tow and spent the entire 20 minute race with his championship rivals close behind.

Casper Stevenson started the race second and held position in the opening laps, though quickly came under pressure from third placed Alex Connor.

Connor dropped back as Zak O’Sullivan reclaimed third, allowing Stevenson to close onto the back of Browning and challenge for the position.

Browning didn’t put a wheel wrong and held Stevenson off long enough for O’Sullivan to join the battle.

A slightly wide moment for Browning almost cost him the victory, but the Fortec driver managed to recover without losing a position.

Browning would not give another opportunity to his rivals, and he took the chequered flag 0.147s ahead of the rest of the field.

O’Sullivan took second from Stevenson, but now had the hard charging James Hedley on his tail. Hedley pushed O’Sullivan hard but couldn’t find a way through and had to settle for third.

Connor pipped Stevenson for fourth, but the Argenti Motorsport driver still finished within a second of the race leader.

Further back, Roman Bilinski had spent much of the race leading a train of cars in the battle for sixth. He was just able to pull away in the closing stages of the race to finish just over two seconds ahead of Christian Mansell, who came under attack from Abbi Pulling late on.

He managed to hold off the Double R Racing driver to finish seventh overall and take the rookie victory, as Frederick Lubin, Reema Juffali and Matias Zagazeta completed the order.

Race results (21 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Luke Browning Fortec Motorsports 20m04.349s
2 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin +0.147s
3 James Hedley JHR Developments +0.440s
4 Alex Connor Arden +0.768s
5 Casper Stevenson Argenti Motorsport +0.995s
6 Roman Bilinski Arden +3.102s
7 Chrisian Mansell Carlin +5.979s
8 Abbi Pulling JHR Developments +6.079s
9 Frederick Lubin Arden +8.465s
10 Reema Juffali Argenti Motorsport +8.685s
11 Abbi Pulling JHR Developments 9.353s
Fastest lap: Hedley, 56.527s

Championship standings
1 Browning 299   2 O’Sullivan 236   3 Stevenson 208   4 Hedley 201   5 Connor 193   6 Bilinski 128   7 Pulling 103   8 Roberto Faria 99   9 Mansell 90   10 Lubin 57