Home Formula 3GB3 British F4 champion Kiern Jewiss takes first British F3 win

British F4 champion Kiern Jewiss takes first British F3 win

by Tim Lumb

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Kiern Jewiss claimed his maiden BRDC British Formula 3 win in the final race at Brands Hatch after holding off poleman Johnathan Hoggard.

The Douglas Motorsport driver got a good start from the front row and was able to pass Fortec Motorsports’ Hoggard at the first corner.

From the opening lap to the chequered flag Hoggard hounded Jewiss and kept on his tail. However he didn’t have a standout opportunity to retake the lead from Jewiss, who was aiming for his first win a race on from getting his best result of second.

The pair had a gap at the end of the race to Jewiss’ Douglas Motorsport team-mate Ulysse de Pauw, who had been able to pass championship leader Clement Novalak on the opening lap to claim the final podium position.

Novalak finished three-tenths behind De Pauw in fourth while further back his Carlin team-mate Kaylen Frederick came home in fifth place having been able to hold off Chris Dittmann Racing’s Ayrton Simmons.

Simmons himself had risen to sixth from eighth place on the opening lap, with overtakes proving to be difficult during the majority of action throughout the weekend.

Neil Verhagen came home seventh for Double R Racing but had a train of cars consisting if Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Lucas Petersson and Hampus Ericsson within one second of him at the chequered flag.

Ericsson was one of the biggest movers having started in 15th place after he crashed during qualifying on Saturday. He benefitted from Benjamin Pedersen running wide on the opening lap at Sheene and Manuel Maldonado retiring on lap 6 of 14.


Race results (14 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport 19m19.645s
2 Johnathan Hoggard Fortec Motorsports +0.292s
3 Ulysse de Pauw Douglas Motorsport +1.868s
4 Clement Novalak Carlin +2.169s
5 Kaylen Frederick Carlin +5.030s
6 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +5.320s
7 Neil Verhagen Double R Racing +12.801s
8 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +13.086s
9 Lucas Petersson Carlin +13.493s
10 Hampus Ericsson Double R Racing +13.775s
11 Josh Mason Lanan Racing +22.679s
12 Nazim Azman Chris Dittmann Racing +23.522s
13 Kris Wright Fortec Motorsports +25.290s
14 Benjamin Pedersen Douglas Motorsport +25.406s
15 Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing +1 lap
DNF Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports
Fastest lap: Hoggard, 1m22.053s

Championship Standings
1 Novalak 406? ?2 Hoggard 366? ?3 Simmons 325 ? 4 Jewiss 287? ?5 Verhagen 259 ? 6 Maldonado 253? ?7 De Pauw 252? ?8 Frederick 236 ? 9 Ericsson 225 ? 10 Chaimongkol 204