Home Formula 3GB3 Carlin’s Kaylen Frederick skims to top of British F3 Media Day test

Carlin’s Kaylen Frederick skims to top of British F3 Media Day test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Kaylen Frederick pipped Christian Olsen to the fastest laptime in the BRDC British Formula 3 Media Day test at Snetterton by 0.016s.

The Carlin driver had been one of the quickest in the previous day’s test at the circuit, but he and his team-mates were off the pace in the first session of Media Day running.

Douglas Motorsport’s returning Ulysse De Pauw started the day on top in freezing track temperatures, ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing’s Jordan Dempsey. Carlin’s yet-to-be announced Brazilian signing Guilherme Peixoto was third, but Frederick and other team-mate Nazim Azman were two and eight seconds off the pace respectively.

A far warmer second session suited Carlin much better, and Azman brought the pace down to 1m44.145s. Kiern Jewiss (Douglas) and Louis Foster (Double R Racing) both got within two tenths of the Malaysian.

The weather was much the same for the final test session, and Frederick was one of the fastest from the off. He was first place on the timesheet on five occasions before surpassing Olsen’s best lap with six minutes to go.

Peixoto had been the fastest driver prior to Olsen, and without improvement he still ended up in third, ahead of Foster, Jewiss, De Pauw and Azman.

Hillspeed missed the previous day’s test, but attended the Media Day with United States Formula 4 racer Oliver Clarke. He was 14th fastest out of the 16 drivers in attendance, and less than 1.5s off the pace.


Test results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m43.705s
2 Christian Olsen Fortec Motorsports +0.016s
3 Guilherme Peixoto Carlin +0.126s
4 Louis Foster Double R Racing +0.217s
5 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +0.292s
6 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport +0.303s
7 Nazim Azman Carlin +0.336s
8 Bart Horsten Lanan Racing +0.347s
9 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing +0.387s
10 Piers Prior Lanan Racing +0.436s
11 Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport +0.841s
12 Sebastian Alvarez Double R Racing +0.956s
13 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing +1.307s
14 Oliver Clarke Hillspeed +1.445s
15 Jordan Dempsey Chris Dittmann Racing +1.485s
16 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +1.610s