Home Featured Boccolacci earns redemptive first GP3 win at the Hungaroring

Boccolacci earns redemptive first GP3 win at the Hungaroring

by Kyran Gibbons

Photo: Zak Mauger / GP3 Series Media Service

MP Motorsport’s Dorian Boccolacci controlled the GP3 sprint race at the Hungaroring to claim a redemptive first career victory ahead of ART Grand Prix’s Callum Ilott.

Boccolacci successfully defended pole position into the Turn 1 on the opening lap and proceeded to quickly build a lead over the chasing pack. By lap three of 17, he was 2.4 seconds clear of second place Ilott.

This gap was later extended to nearly six seconds and while Ilott reeled in the MP Motorsport driver in the closing laps, Boccolacci was able to cruise to a comfortable maiden win.

Boccolacci had previously crossed the line first in GP3, winning the feature race at Paul Ricard in June. However he was later disqualified from the results for a tyre pressure infringement.

Second-placed Ilott made his progress on the opening lap. Starting from third, he attempted a move around the outside of Juan Manuel Correa at Turn 1. Forced wide and onto the run-off area along with Correa, Ilott used superior traction to power past the Jenzer Motorsport driver, who then lost out on third place to Anthoine Hubert one corner later.

Championship leader Hubert’s start propelled him from sixth on the grid to third on the opening lap. The ART Grand Prix driver was unable to challenge team-mate Ilott during the race.

Campos Racing’s Leonardo Pulcini ended up fourth. He performed an almost identical move to Hubert on Correa at Turn 2, demoting the Jenzer driver to fifth place halfway through the race.

Correa spent the closing stages defending from the Trident pairing David Beckmann and Ryan Tveter. Attempting a late-braking move at Turn 1, Beckmann tagged the rear of Correa’s car at one point. The two avoided damage in the incident, but Beckmann used his final DRS allowance in the failed attempt. This left him exposed to Tveter late-on.

Tveter was able to swoop around the outside of Beckmann at Turn 1 to secure sixth place, while Beckmann – on his first weekend with the team after moving from Jenzer – had to settle for seventh.

Tatiana Calderon scored her first point of the season, guiding her Jenzer-prepared car to eighth place. She demoted Campos’s Diego Menchaca, who had occupied eighth position for most of the race, in the closing stages.

Race one winner Nikita Mazepin was anonymous throughout. After running wide at Turn 1 on the opening lap, he slipped from eighth on the grid to 10th place early on. After being passed by Pedro Piquet and Simo Laaksonen as the race unfolded, he finished in 12th.


Sprint race results (17 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Dorian Boccolacci MP Motorsport 27m27.055s
2 Callum Ilott ART Grand Prix +2.308s
3 Anthoine Hubert ART Grand Prix +3.944s
4 Leonardo Pulcini Campos Racing +10.709s
5 Juan Manuel Correa Jenzer Motorsport +12.673s
6 Ryvan Tveter Trident +12.970s
7 David Beckmann Trident +13.968s
8 Tatiana Calderon Jenzer Motorsport +14.341s
9 Pedro Piquet Trident +17.163s
10 Diego Menchaca Campos Racing +18.412s
11 Simo Laaksonen Campos Racing +18.764s
12 Nikita Mazepin ART Grand Prix +20.846s
13 Gabriel Aubry Arden International +21.141s
14 Jake Hughes ART Grand Prix +22.324s
15 Julien Falchero Arden International +22.938s
16 Giuliano Alesi Trident +46.778s
17 Jannes Fittje Jenzer Motorsport +55.874s
18 Joey Mawson Arden International +1 lap
Ret Niko Kari MP Motorsport
Fastest Lap: Mawson, 1m35.391s

Championship Standings
?Hubert 129? ?2 Ilott 114? ?3?Pulcini 99? ?4?Mazepin 98? ?5 Piquet 67? ?6 Alesi 66? ?7?Boccolacci 58? ?8?Alessio Lorandi 42? ?9 Tveter 42? ?10 Hughes 37