Home Formula 4Italian F4 Leonardi Lorandi victorious in disjointed second Italian F4 race at Imola

Leonardi Lorandi victorious in disjointed second Italian F4 race at Imola

by Bethonie Waring

Leonardo Lorandi managed two safety car restarts to take a lights to flag victory in the second Italian Formula 4 race at Imola.

The pole sitter came under pressure from Prema?s Olli Caldwell on a number of occasions, but drove a faultless race to take his second win of the weekend and extend his championship lead over third place finisher Enzo Fittipaldi.

The first safety car came midway through race, when William Alatalo ran through the gravel and span across the track before coming to a stop. Those running behind were forced to take evasive action, with a number of drivers coming close to the stranded Mucke Motorsport driver.

Alatalo managed to get going again before the safety car could pick up the leaders, and racing was soon back under way.

Lorandi, Caldwell, and Fittipaldi quickly pulled away from the rest of the field, as they had done in the first part of the race, while Federico Malvestiti battled to keep Petr Ptacek behind him.

Lorandi was once again starting to distance himself from the two Prema drivers when the safety car was brought out again, this time to recover Gregoire Saucy, who ended a disappointing race in the gravel.

Saucy had already lost a number of positions when he ran wide on two separate occasions. He was starting to work his way back up through the field when another car clipped his rear wheel and he was sent spinning into the gravel.

With two minutes on the clock, Lorandi bunched up the field to restart the race again. He was unable to shake the Prema duo, but Caldwell ran out of time before he could make a move for the lead.

Lorandi finished just 0.769 seconds ahead of Caldwell, with Fittipaldi a further 0.653s behind. A second victory means the Bhaitech driver is now 25 points ahead of Fittipaldi in the championship standings heading into the final race of the weekend.

Malvestiti managed to hold onto fourth ahead of Ptacek.

Gianluca Petecof took sixth, just ahead of Javier Gonzalex Giardello.

Niklas Krutten managed a solid race to climb up to eighth, ahead of Ian Rodriguez and Giorgio Carrara.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Leonardo Lorandi Bhaitech 29m49.891s
2 Olli Caldwell Prema +0.769s
3 Enzo Fittipaldi Prema +1.422s
4 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +2.746s
5 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +3.165s
6 Gianluca Petecof Prema +3.510s
7 Javier Gonzalez Jenzer Motorsport +3.686s
8 Niklas Krutten Mucke Motorsport +4.337s
9 Ian Rodriguez DRZ Benelli +4.805s
10 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +6.410s
11 Diego Bertonelli Alma Racing +6.760s
12 Umberto Laganella Cram Motorsport +7.987s
13 Ilya Morozov Cram Motorsport +8.079s
14 Edoardo Morricone DR Formula +8.728s
15 Nazim Azman Jenzer Motorsport +9.095s
16 Ido Cohen Mucke Motorsport +9.218s
17 Marzio Moretti BVM Racing +9.747s
18 Gastone Sampieri BVM Racing +10.639s
19 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +10.778s
20 Amna Al Qubaisi Prema +11.400s
21 Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport +13.604s
22 Andrea Dell’Accio Cram Motorsport +15.778s
23 Alessio Deledda Technorace +16.815s
24 Axel Gnos AS Motorsport +17.541s
25 Fabio Venditti Corbetta Competizioni +21.033s
26 Alessandro Famularo Bhaitech +1 lap
NC Gregoire Saucy Jenzer Motorsport +5 laps
Ret Oliver Rasmussen Jenzer Motorsport
Pole: Lorandi, 1m45.104s? ? ??Fastest lap: Lorandi, 1m45.672s

Championship Standings
?Lorandi 227? ?2 Fittipaldi 205? ?3 Caldwell 151? ?4 Ptacek 114? ?5 Malvestiti 111? ?6?Petecof 82? ?7?Carrara 79? ?8?Rodriguez 78? ?9?Frederik Vesti 68? ?10?Alatalo 69