Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Bilinski tops FREC action in Imola test, Yamakoshi fastest in F4

Bilinski tops FREC action in Imola test, Yamakoshi fastest in F4

by Ida Wood

Photo: Sebastian Rozendaal / DPPA

Formula Regional European Championship and Italian Formula 4 teams have been busy testing at Imola over the past four days.

The 26-car F4 entry list was split into two groups for their sessions on Saturday and Sunday.

US Racing’s Gianmarco Pradel started the test on top, setting a 1m46.309s in session one to top the times by just 0.093 seconds and 0.094s respectively over Van Amersfoort Racing duo Dion Gowda and Hiyu Yamakoshi.

PHM Racing’s Davide Larini topped the first Group B session, with a 1m45.228s putting him 0.564s clear of Prema’s Kean Nakamura Berta. Tomass Stolcermanis was 0.686s behind in third, spending day one in the cockpit of Prema’s #4 car before handing it over to Freddie Slater on Sunday.

The first sub-1m46s laps were set in Group A’s next session, with Pradel leading the way by 0.08s over Yamakoshi and 0.098s over Gowda.

Group B were even faster, and Nakamura Berta set a 1m45.620s to go top. PHM’s James Ehozi was 0.113s behind in second and Prema’s Rashid Al Dhaheri was 0.222s back in third.

Yamakoshi edged Pradel by 0.073s to top the next session with a 1m45.668s, and the pace was lowered to 1m45.259s by Egozi in the session after as he went fastest by 0.485s over Larini. Just 0.106s covered second to sixth place.

In his final session Yamakoshi had an even bigger pace advantage, a 1m44.740s putting him 0.676s ahead of Gowda, and when Group B ended Saturday’s running Egozi set a 1m45.067s to put 0.565s between himself and Prema’s Alex Powell in second.

Nakamura Berta began Sunday on top with a 1m45.933s lap, with Al Dhaheri and Jenzer Motorsport’s Shimo Zhang in joint second after both setting 1m46.093s.

Yamakoshi set a 1m44.872s to top Group A’s first session by 0.673s, with 0.005s between Gowda and Kabir Anurag in second and third.

Egozi was the only driver in the 1m44s in the next session, and in Group A’s next outing Pradel was fastest a 1m44.179s, but US Racing’s Finn Wiebelhaus and Yamakoshi were the only other drivers to sub-1m45s.

In Group B’s final two sessions Egozi led Larini by 0.2s both times, and Yamakoshi was the Group A benchmark by 0.5s in his last two sessions. He ended the test with a 1m44.123s to top the weekend’s combined timesheet.

FRegional teams took to the track on Monday, and R-ace GP’s Tuukka Taponen set the pace in the morning with a 1m39.816s to lead VAR duo Brando Badoer and Ivan Domingues by 0.083s and 0.0983s respectively. Prema’s Rafael Camara was 0.218s behind fourth, with 0.938s covering the top 20 in a 32-car field.

Trident’s Roman Bilinski lowered the pace to 1m39.396s in the afternoon, and edged ART Grand Prix’s Alessandro Giusti to first place by 0.027s. All but six drivers improved on their morning pace, with Badoer among those who did not. R-ace’s Enzo Deligny was absent after crashing in the morning.

Rain hit on Tuesday and laptimes were considerably slower. Race Performance Motorsport’s Noah Stromsted was fastest in the morning by 0.021s over Domingues with a 1m57.984s lap, and in the afternoon Jesse Carrasquedo led G4 Racing team-mate Kanato Le by 0.37s by setting a 1m54.904s.

On track at the same time were Martinius Stenshorne and Cian Shields in GP3 cars and Juju Noda in a Formula Renault 3.5 car.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m39.396s 151
2 Alessandro Giusti ART Grand Prix 1m39.423s +0.027s 143
3 Noah Stromsted R-P-M 1m39.713s +0.317s 166
4 Nikhil Bohra MP Motorsport 1m39.733s +0.337s 118
5 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.775s +0.379s 165
6 Nikita Bedrin MP Motorsport 1m39.808s +0.412s 106
7 Tuukka Taponen R-ace GP 1m39.809s +0.413s 183
8 Akshay Bohra R-ace GP 1m39.818s +0.422s 184
9 Rafael Camara Prema 1m39.822s +0.426s 145
10 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport 1m39.826s +0.430s 135
11 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 1m39.838s +0.442s 104
12 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.899s +0.503s 158
13 Pedro Clerot Van Amersfoort Racing 1m40.052s +0.656s 161
14 James Wharton Prema 1m40.127s +0.731s 143
15 Evan Giltaire ART Grand Prix 1m40.198s +0.802s 147
16 Niko Lacorte Trident 1m40.210s +0.814s 147
17 Matteo De Palo Sainteloc Racing 1m40.236s +0.840s 178
18 Enzo Deligny R-ace GP 1m40.249s +0.853s 120
19 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport 1m40.258s +0.862s 70
20 Zachary David R-ace GP 1m40.459s +1.063s 167
21 Tom Lebbon R-P-M 1m40.485s +1.089s 155
22 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing 1m40.487s +1.091s 154
23 Enzo Peugeot Sainteloc Racing 1m40.633s +1.237s 126
24 Jesse Carrasquedo G4 Racing 1m40.651s +1.255s 131
25 Ruiqi Liu Trident 1m40.773s +1.377s 135
26 Giovanni Maschio R-P-M 1m40.861s +1.465s 142
27 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi G4 Racing 1m41.033s +1.637s 142
28 Kanato Le G4 Racing 1m41.067s +1.671s 144
29 Lena Buhler ART Grand Prix 1m41.660s +2.264s 167
30 Ivan Klymenko KIC Motorsport 1m42.825s +3.429s 135
31 Yaroslav Veselaho ART Grand Prix 1m42.896s +3.500s 126
32 Alexander Savinkov AKM Motorsport 1m42.990s +3.594s 84
1 Hiyu Yamakoshi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.123s 148
2 Gianmarco Pradel US Racing 1m44.179s +0.056s 130
3 Dion Gowda Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.715s +0.592s 145
4 Finn Wiebelhaus US Racing 1m44.865s +0.742s 136
5 James Egozi PHM Racing 1m44.935s +0.812s 148
6 Tereza Babickova AKM Motorsport 1m45.086s +0.963s 91
7 Maxim Rehm US Racing 1m45.199s +1.076s 130
8 Kabir Anurag US Racing 1m45.211s +1.088s 130
9 Davide Larini PHM Racing 1m45.267s +1.144s 139
10 Kean Nakamura Berta Prema 1m45.348s +1.225s 137
11 Alex Powell Prema 1m45.445s +1.322s 131
12 Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema 1m45.449s +1.326s 133
13 Oscar Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m45.655s +1.532s 117
14 Shimo Zhang Jenzer Motorsport 1m45.674s +1.551s 132
15 Doriane Pin AKM Motorsport 1m45.765s +1.642s 124
16 Tim Gerhards Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.784s +1.661s 146
17 Freddie Slater Prema 1m45.809s +1.686s 39
18 Tomass Stolcermanis Prema 1m45.819s +1.696s 63
19 Kamal Mrad PHM Racing 1m45.945s +1.822s 149
20 Andrea Frassineti BVM Racing 1m45.954s +1.831s 66
21 Maximilian Popov PHM Racing 1m45.983s +1.860s 132
22 Andrija Kostic AS Motorsport 1m46.248s +2.125s 132
23 Eliska Babickova AKM Motorsport 1m46.778s +2.655s 134
24 Rehan Hakim Van Amersfoort Racing 1m46.850s +2.727s 124
25 Alexander Savinkvov AKM Motorsport 1m47.134s +3.011s 89
26 Zhelin Shen Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.875s +3.752s 141
27 Jan Koller BVM Racing 1m48.375s +4.252s 74