Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship MP Motorsport sets pace in first FIA F3 test session of 2020

MP Motorsport sets pace in first FIA F3 test session of 2020

by Ida Wood

Photo: FIA F3 Championship / Carl Bingham

MP Motorsport’s Bent Viscaal finished the first FIA Formula 3 Championship test session of 2020 over three tenths clear of the opposition in Bahrain.

The Dutchman returned to the top of the times with just over 10 minutes left of the two-and-a-half hour session, displacing Hitech GP’s long-time pacesetter Max Fewtrell not long after a red flag interruption.

Viscaal had also appeared at the front early on, before being toppled by HWA Racelab’s Enzo Fittipaldi and then ART Grand Prix’s Alexander Smolyar.

Hitech duo Fewtrell and Lawson moved to the top before the red flag appeared, and there were few improvements from those who returned to the track afterwards.

Lirim Zendeli jumped up to 10th for Trident, with the only other improvements in the final minutes coming from Viscaal’s MP team-mate Richard Verschoor. The Macau Grand Prix winner brought his best laptime down to a 1m47.499s to take second place, but still 0.353s off Viscaal.

The third MP car of Lukas Dunner was ninth quickest, 0.727s behind, with the top 12 cars covered by less than a second.

Reigning champion team Prema was best represented by Frederik Vesti in fifth, 0.548s slower than Viscaal.

HWA did not field a replacement driver for Jake Hughes, who is currently driving for Mercedes-Benz in Formula E’s Marrakech rookie test.


Test results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 1m47.146s
2 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +0.353s
3 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP +0.465s
4 Liam Lawson Hitech GP +0.507s
5 Frederik Vesti Prema +0.548s
6 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +0.648s
7 Niko Kari Charouz Racing System +0.668s
8 Logan Sargeant Prema +0.713s
9 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport +0.727s
10 Lirim Zendeli Trident +0.762s
11 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix +0.897s
12 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab +0.954s
13 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP +1.048s
14 Alex Peroni Campos Racing +1.085s
15 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix +1.102s
16 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport +1.102s
17 Olli Caldwell Trident +1.122s
18 Oscar Piastri Prema +1.124s
19 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +1.230s
20 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab +1.323s
21 Clement Novalak Carlin +1.367s
22 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +1.623s
23 Enaam Ahmed Carlin +1.626s
24 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident +1.674s
25 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System +1.718s
26 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System +1.857s
27 Cameron Das Carlin +1.975s
28 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing +2.342s
29 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +3.258s