Home News Bedrin beats Premas to top spot in F4 UAE test at Dubai

Bedrin beats Premas to top spot in F4 UAE test at Dubai

by Ida Wood

Photo: F4 UAE

PHM Racing’s Nikita Bedrin and Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema’s James Wharton topped the two pre-event test sessions for the second Formula 4 United Arab Emirates round at Dubai Autodrome.

Bedrin was fastest in the morning session on Friday by 0.097 seconds ahead of Prema’s Rafael Camara, who is set to make his single-seater racing debut this weekend after a positive COVID-19 test ruled him out of last week’s season opener.

Fellow rookie Martinius Stenshorne was just 0.010s slower in third place for 3Y Technology by R-ace GP, with three of the next five drivers on pace coming from Prema’s stable of cars split between its main team and Abu Dhabi Racing.

There was exactly a second covering the top 16 cars, with AKM Motorsport’s sportscar star Loris Spinelli in 11th place and with a gap of eight tenths to the top on his second day back in a single-seater car in almost eight years.

In the warmer afternoon session there was little action, with Stenshorne and Spinelli initially going fastest but not at a truly representative pace.

Bedrin was the first driver to lap sub-1m40s, ahead of Stenshorne, PHM team-mate Taylor Barnard and Spinelli, and while he did improve by half a second after that he was shuffled down to third as Ferrari juniors Wharton and Camara went to the top.

Wharton set a 1m39.010s that stood as the session’s benchmark for the next hour, while Camara was almost three tenths slower. Late on Bedrin returned to track and snuck into second, a quarter of a second off of Wharton but still possessing the fastest laptime of the day from the morning.

Stenshorne was fourth, 0.007s up on Prema’s Charlie Wurz, and there were six other drivers who got into the 1m39s. The only driver to set their personal best in the afternoon was Pinnacle Motorsport’s Jules Castro down in 28th place.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 1m38.689s 61
2 Rafael Camara Prema +0.097s 68
3 Martinius Stenshorne 3Y by R-ace GP +0.107s 61
4 James Wharton Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.203s 68
5 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +0.281s 59
6 Aiden Neate Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +0.285s 69
7 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +0.398s 53
8 Charlie Wurz Prema +0.512s 69
9 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +0.604s 59
10 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +0.612s 56
11 Loris Spinelli AKM Motorsport +0.809s 67
12 Nikhil Bohra 3Y by R-ace GP +0.914s 64
13 Oliver Gray Hitech GP +0.925s 58
14 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +0.947s 57
15 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +0.959s 59
16 Brando Badoer AKM Motorsport +1.000s 64
17 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +1.036s 59
18 Sohil Shah Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +1.196s 71
19 Victoria Blokhina 3Y by R-ace GP +1.227s 66
20 Jamie Day Xcel Motorsport +1.286s 72
21 Anshul Gandhi Cram-Hitech GP +1.293s 79
22 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +1.302s 48
23 Ricardo Escotto Cram-Hitech GP +1.427s 72
24 Ivan Domingues Xcel Motorsport +1.527s 45
25 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Xcel Motorsport +1.576s 47
26 Michael Shin JHR Developments +1.664s 62
27 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +1.802s 68
28 Jules Castro Pinnacle Motorsport +2.410s 64
29 Ismoilkhuja Akhmedkhodjaev Xcel Motorsport +2.991s 68