Home Formula 4Italian F4 Bedrin and Patrese joint fastest on Italian F4’s pre-event Monza test day

Bedrin and Patrese joint fastest on Italian F4’s pre-event Monza test day

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: ACI Sport

Nikita Bedrin and Lorenzo Patrese set identical laptimes to end Thursday’s Italian Formula 4 test at Monza in joint first place.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Bedrin was fastest in session two of four, with AKM Motorsport’s Patrese matching his benchmark midway through the final session in the late afternoon. Bedrin was one of several who were faster in the morning.

Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli was third fastest, 0.058 seconds slower than the top two and second in sessions two and four, while Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Duerksen and US Racing’s Tim Tramnitz were also within a tenth of the pace.

Sebastian Montoya had set the early pace for Prema, and topped sessions one and three, but ultimately was only sixth fastest. His team-mate Conrad Laursen was 0.082s slower, with the duo split by VAR’s Joshua Dufek.

After a tricky opening session, US’s Vlad Lomko ended the day in ninth ahead of Andrea Kimi Antonelli. Unlike his Prema team-mates, Antonelli was able to improve his pace in session four.

Ollie Bearman, who clinched the title at the previous round in Mugello, was absent from the test due to his participation in the Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award assessment week at Silverstone.

Iron Lynx’s Pietro Armanni caused a red flag in the final session with an off in sector three. One of his team-mates from the previous round, Kacper Sztuka, was back at the team he started the season with during the Monza test.

Sztuka was at the wheel of AS Motorsport’s car, having contested the first five rounds of 2021 with the squad. He switched to Iron Lynx for Mugello to evaluate his 2022 options, but didn’t secure a seat there for a second round and will be back at his original team this weekend.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.324s 74
2 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport 1m53.324s +0.000s 59
3 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m53.382s +0.058s 67
4 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport 1m53.390s +0.066s 67
5 Tim Tramnitz US Racing 1m53.394s +0.070s 64
6 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m53.488s +0.164s 65
7 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.500s +0.176s 66
8 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m53.570s +0.246s 65
9 Vlad Lomko US Racing 1m53.622s +0.298s 65
10 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m53.731s +0.407s 72
11 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing 1m53.813s +0.489s 61
12 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.855s +0.531s 57
13 Kirill Smal Prema 1m53.913s +0.589s 68
14 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m53.955s +0.631s 65
15 Maceo Capietto Prema 1m53.985s +0.661s 63
16 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.994s +0.670s 69
17 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.996s +0.672s 63
18 Pietro Armanni Iron Lynx 1m53.997s +0.673s 60
19 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.039s +0.715s 69
20 Erick Zuniga Mucke Motorsport 1m54.048s +0.724s 67
21 Robert De Haan Van Amersfoort Racing 1m54.097s +0.773s 74
22 Marcos Flack Cram Motorsport 1m54.120s +0.796s 72
23 Leonardo Bizzotto BVM Racing 1m54.149s +0.825s 63
24 Oliver Gray BVM Racing 1m54.249s +0.925s 70
25 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport 1m54.268s +0.944s 45
26 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m54.396s +1.072s 74
27 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.409s +1.085s 65
28 Jonas Ried Mucke Motorsport 1m54.501s +1.177s 65
29 Kacper Sztuka AS Motorsport 1m54.516s +1.192s 70
30 Jorge Garciarce Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.531s +1.207s 47
31 Pedro Perino US Racing 1m54.587s +1.263s 64
32 Levente Revesz AKM Motorsport 1m54.622s +1.298s 60
33 Rocco Mazzolla Cram Motorsport 1m54.636s +1.312s 72
34 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m54.861s +1.537s 76