Home Featured Beckmann claims FIA F3 Hungaroring race two victory after Viscaal penalised

Beckmann claims FIA F3 Hungaroring race two victory after Viscaal penalised

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

David Beckmann won the second FIA Formula 3 Championship race at the Hungaroring after two five-second time penalties for Bent Viscaal dropped him down the order.

Viscaal had put in a stunning drive on a wet track to climb up to the race lead from eighth on the grid and had extended a gap of over six seconds to Beckmann when the safety car was brought out with just two laps remaining.

The first of his two time penalties came after contact with Igor Fraga early in the race at Turn 12. Fraga was forced to retire but Viscaal managed to continue and had strong pace as the track dried.

The second came during Viscaal’s climb into the top five, as the MP Motorsport driver ran three-abreast with team-mate Richard Verschoor and Logan Sargeant. He managed to pass Verschoor but Sargeant stayed ahead for a few more corners before Viscaal was able to get alongside him again.

Viscaal left the track out of Turn 3 as he ran alongside Sargeant, and it was while off track that he made the move. Instead of handing the position back, Viscaal pulled clear and brought the challenge to Clement Novalak in third.

He picked off Novalak, Beckmann and long-time race leader Dennis Hauger in quick succession, and began to pull out a gap as Beckmann struggled to pass Hauger.

The early race wet conditions had played in Hauger’s favour. He was untouchable in the opening stages of the race but, as the track began to dry, Beckmann was able to reel him in. Hauger spent the second half of the race defending hard, which allowed Viscaal to extend his on track lead.

Once Beckmann was able pass Hauger, he matched Viscaal’s pace and kept the gap at around six seconds.

Oscar Piastri also found a way past Hauger and closed in to within 10 seconds of the race leader, but Viscaal was set to finish on the podium even with his penalties before Federico Malvestiti hit the wall exiting Turn 4 with two laps remaining.

The safety car was brought out, reducing Viscaal’s gap to nothing. The race ended behind the safety car and Viscaal dropped back to P17 on the corrected timings.

Beckmann was awarded his maiden FIA F3 race win ahead of Piastri and Hauger, who held off Sargeant to take his best result of the season.

Verschoor took fifth ahead of Theo Pourchaire and Alexander Smolyar, who put in a strong climb up through the field from 27th on the grid after his race one retirement.

Liam Lawson had also been a charge from the back, and ahead of Smolyar, when he suffered another engine-related retirement.

Sebastian Fernandez, Enzo Fittipaldi, and Alex Peroni completed the top 10.


Race results (22 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 David Beckmann Trident 43m54.224s
2 Oscar Piastri Prema +1.026s
3 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP +1.522s
4 Logan Sargeant Prema +1.975s
5 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +2.497s
6 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix +2.724s
7 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +3.220s
8 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix +3.594s
9 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab +3.939s
10 Alex Peroni Campos Racing +4.665s
11 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP +5.558s
12 Clement Novalak Carlin +5.911s
13 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System +6.351s
14 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing +7.584s
15 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +8.158s
16 Lirim Zendeli Trident +9.253s
17 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport +9.377s
18 Olli Caldwell Trident +10.023s
19 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +11.385s
20 Roman Stanek Charouz Racing System +12.231s
21 Enaam Ahmed Carlin +24.654s
22 Cameron Das Carlin +49.970s
23 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +51.050s
25 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab +1m51.752s
26 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +3 laps
Ret Frederik Vesti Prema
Ret Liam Lawson Hitech GP
Ret Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System
Ret Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport
Fastest lap: Piastri, 1m50.721s

Championship standings
1 Piastri 76   2 Sargeant 50   3 Pourchaire 48   4 Beckmann 47.5   5 Verschoor 45   6 Vesti 37.5   7 Zendeli 26   8 Lawson 25   9 Peroni 24   10 Fernandez 19