Home Featured Bearman fastest in practice for Monza FIA F3 decider

Bearman fastest in practice for Monza FIA F3 decider

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Prema’s Ollie Bearman led the way in wet-to-dry final FIA Formula 3 practice session of the season at Monza.

Drivers went out on grooved tyres as the track surface was wet after rain fell during the night.

Championship leader Victor Martins was the first driver to lead the board with a laptime of 1m51.455s, followed closely by MP Motorsport’s Caio Collet and his own ART Grand Prix team-mate Gregoire Saucy.

Van Amersrfoort Racing’s Rafael Villagomez spun out of the first chicane. Only yellow flags were waved as he quickly continued. Hitech GP’s Isack Hadjar would also spin round at the Ascari chicane while pushing to set the fastest lap of the session.

Drivers started to lower their laptimes as track conditions improved. ART’s Juan Manuel Correa moved to the top of the times to be soon beaten by Saucy.

The virtual safety car was then deployed due to Jenzer Motorsport’s Federico Malvestiti stopping on the main straight with mechanical issues. However, it didn’t last long as he restarted and returned to the pitlane, where his mechanics investigated the issue.

Zane Maloney set the fastest lap as the session midway point approached. The Trident driver was bettered by Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan and Hitech’s Kaylen Frederick, who stayed on track for some more laps whereas most drivers headed to the pit-lane as there wasn’t enough water on track for the wet tyres.

MP’s Alex Smolyar was the first driver to take the track on slicks with less than 15 minutes remaining on the clock, and was immediately joined by the rest of the field.

After lots of changes in the order, Bearman took the top spot ahead of Hadjar and his team-mate Arthur Leclerc as the chequered flag was waved. Trident’s Jonny Edgar and Campos Racing’s David Vidales completed the top five.

Of the other title contenders, Martins was seventh and Jak Crawford was 10th, with Roman Stanek 14th and Maloney ending up 20th.

Practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Ollie Bearman Prema Racing 1m44.873s 15
2 Isack Hadjar Hitech Grand Prix 1m44.921s +0.048s 15
3 Arthur Leclerc Prema Racing 1m45.117s +0.244s 15
4 Jonny Edgar Trident 1m45.123s +0.250s 16
5 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m45.126s +0.253s 17
6 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m45.128s +0.255s 17
7 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m45.277s +0.404s 117
8 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m45.472s +0.599s 19
9 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m45.474s +0.601s 19
10 Jak Crawford Prema Racing 1m45.550s +0.677s 15
11 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.729s +0.856s 16
12 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m45.793s +0.920s 19
13 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m45.868s +0.995s 20
14 Roman Stanek Trident 1m45.927s +1.054s 17
15 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.994s +1.121s 18
16 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 1m46.297s +1.424s 19
17 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m46.390s +1.517s 18
18 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1m46.553s +1.680s 20
19 Kaylen Frederick Hitech Grand Prix 1m46.669s +1.796s 20
20 Zane Maloney Trident 1m46.685s +1.812s 17
21 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.186s +2.313s 15
22 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 1m47.859s +2.986s 20
23 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m47.911s +3.038s 16
24 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 1m47.971s +3.098s 16
25 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing 1m48.823s +3.950s 18
26 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.362s +4.489s 18
27 Nazim Azman Hitech Grand Prix 1m49.542s +4.669s 17
28 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m52.486s +7.613s 18
29 Alessandro Famularo Charouz Racing System 1m53.282s +8.409s 19
30 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.501s +8.628s 8