Home Featured Vips leads the way in Formula 2 practice at Monza

Vips leads the way in Formula 2 practice at Monza

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Hitech GP’s Juri Vips led Formula 2’s practice session at Monza with a laptime over three tenths of a second faster than his nearest competitor.

DAMS’ series returnee Luca Ghiotto and Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung were the first drivers to clock representative laps. Ghiotto set the pace early on as he got up to speed after not driving the Dallara F2 2018 for almost two years.

Little running took place in the opening 15 minutes of the session as most drivers waited in the pitlane for Ghiotto and some others to rubber up the track. Vips went then fastest with a laptime of 1m35.335s, which ART Grand Prix’s Theo Pourchaire would better moments later.

Track conditions kept improving as the session progressed, and Vips again went fastest and exchanged the top spot first with Carlin’s Liam Lawson and then with Virtuosi Racing’s Jack Doohan.

All drivers improved their pace as practice approached its end. Vips reclaimed first place with five minutes to go, and no one would get close to his 1m32.337s lap. A late lap from Boschung meant he was second fastest, followed by Hitech’s Marcus Armstrong.

Pourchaire was shuffled down to fourth, two places ahead of MP Motorsport’s championship leader Felipe Drugovich. Trident’s Richard Verschoor was in between them in fifth.

The marshals had to push Tatiana Calderon back to the pitlane after she stalled at the pit exit when doing a practice start late on.

Having been shown the black-and-white flag during the session, MP’s Clement Novalak will be investigated after the session for exceeding track limits on several occasions at different corners. Campos’s Olli Caldwell is under investigation for impeding Drugovich.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m32.337s 18
2 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m32.650s +0.313s 20
3 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m32.722s +0.385s 18
4 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m32.807s +0.470s 17
5 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m32.842s +0.505s 17
6 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m32.897s +0.560s 20
7 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m32.901s +0.564s 18
8 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m32.975s +0.638s 17
9 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m33.022s +0.685s 14
10 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m33.100s +0.763s 14
11 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m33.146s +0.809s 15
12 David Beckmann Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.189s +0.852s 16
13 Luca Ghiotto DAMS 1m33.287s +0.950s 20
14 Calan Williams Trident 1m33.376s +1.039s 18
15 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m33.567s +1.230s 17
16 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m33.584s +1.247s 20
17 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m33.673s +1.336s 16
18 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.748s +1.411s 18
19 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m33.850s +1.513s 17
20 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m34.019s +1.682s 22
21 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m34.249s +1.912s 18
22 Tatiana Calderon Charouz Racing System 1m35.093s +2.756s 16