Home Formula 4Italian F4 Bearman doubles up in Italian F4 at Vallelunga after Montoya penalty

Bearman doubles up in Italian F4 at Vallelunga after Montoya penalty

by Craig Woollard

Photo: ACI Sport

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Oliver Bearman won his second Italian Formula 4 race of the day at Vallelunga, this time inheriting the lead after a penalty for Sebastian Montoya.

Bearman started third on the grid and got a good start on the opening lap. He battled with Prema’s Montoya but ended up slipping behind US Racing’s Tim Tramnitz and Montoya – who was judged to have jumped the start.

There was a big crash further behind on the first lap, as Jenzer Motorsport’s Jorge Garciarce and Iron Lynx’s Pietro Armanni collided. The recovery job took up a third of the half-hour race.

When the racing got going again, Bearman took a few laps to find his way past Tramnitz for second on the road, shortly before Montoya’s drive-through penalty was announced.

He was then promoted to first when Montoya served his penalty, but the Colombian then returned to pitlane after the penalty and retired. AKM Motorsport’s Lorenzo Patrese also retired in the pits.

Bearman held a small lead over Tramnitz before the safety car was brought out again for a crash between US’s Vlad Lomko and VAR’s Nikita Bedrin while squabbling over points, in which Jenzer’s Francesco Braschi was also caught up in.

The number of cars involved in the crash meant the race was concluded behind the safety car, and ensured Bearman a fourth successive win ahead of Tramnitz, VAR’s Joshua Dufek and Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Duersken.

Prema’s Conrad Laursen and Kirill Smal were fifth and sixth, VAR’s Bent Valince was seventh, while Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli gained several spots to take eighth. Mucke’s Jonas Ried and AKM Motorsport’s Levente Revesz rounded out the top 10.

VAR’s Cenyu Han had a miserable race, bogging down after jumping the start and ended up 24th from fifth on the grid. Prema’s Charlie Wurz also started up the order, slipped back and recovered to 13th.

His team-mate Hamda Al Qubaisi was fighting with Smal over eighth when she spun off and finished 17th.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ollie Bearman Van Amersfoort Racing 17 laps
2 Tim Tramnitz US Racing +0.296s
3 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +1.024s
4 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +1.399s
5 Conrad Laursen Prema +1.761s
6 Kirill Smal Prema +2.023s
7 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing +2.744s
8 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +2.933s
9 Jonas Ried Mucke Motorsport +3.199s
10 Levente Revesz AKM Motorsport +3.605s
11 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport +4.408s
12 Maya Weug Iron Lynx +5.064s
13 Charlie Wurz Prema +5.692s
14 Pedro Perino DR Formula +7.260s
15 Leonardo Bizzotto BVM Racing +7.776s
16 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport +8.017s
17 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema +8.240s
18 Kacper Sztuka AS Motorsport +8.815s
19 Eron Rexhepi BVM Racing +9.198s
20 Erick Zuniga Mucke Motorsport +9.472s
21 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport +9.731s
22 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport +10.491s
23 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport +10.921s
24 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing +12.461s
Ret Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Vlad Lomko US Racing
Ret Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport
Ret Sebastian Montoya Prema
Ret Pietro Armanni Iron Lynx
Ret Jorge Garciarce Jenzer Motorsport
Fastest lap: Bearman, 1m34.070s

Championship standings
1 Bearman 157   2 Tramnitz 101   3 Fornaroli 85   4 Montoya 81   5 Smal 80   6 Duerksen 44   7 Dufek 41   8 Lomko 37   9 Victor Bernier 30   10 Luke Browning 27