Home Formula 3GB3 Ushijima wins again from pole at Silverstone in BRDC British F3

Ushijima wins again from pole at Silverstone in BRDC British F3

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Reece Ushijima took his second BRDC British Formula 3 win in a row ahead of Zak O’Sullivan at Silverstone in race two on Sunday.

As in Saturday’s encounter, the Hitech GP driver took a lights-to-flag victory from pole on the Grand Prix layout to become the first double winner of the season.

Carlin’s O’Sullivan ran a close second throughout the race after passing Arden’s Frederick Lubin off the line, finishing 1.174s second behind.

Lubin lost further ground to Fortec’s Roberto Faria and Carlin’s Christian Mansell on the opening lap.

After retaking Mansell a few laps later, Lubin caught Faria for third in the closing stages, with the pair also closing in on O’Sullivan.

Faria held on to take the final podium spot, and was just 0.5s behind O’Sullivan at the finish.

Mansell was passed around the outside of Stowe for fifth by Arden’s Alex Connor, who had climbed from ninth on the grid, but a time penalty dropped Connor to ninth at the chequered flag.

Mansell lost fifth and sixth to Elite Motorsport’s Javier Sagrera and Hitech’s Bart Horsten before the finish, Horsten storming up the order from 15th with a number of overtakes.

Tom Lebbon finished eighth for Elite, while Hitech’s Sebastian Alvarez lost a top ten finish after a time penalty for exceeding track limits. Ayrton Simmons benefited to finish 10th from 16th on the grid.

Douglas Motorsport’s Dexter Patterson was involved in a collision with Carlin’s Bryce Aron at Luffield which necessitated a front-wing change with dropped Patterson to last, while Aron recovered to finish 11th.

Race results (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP 19m33.961s
2 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin +1.174s
3 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +1.656s
4 Frederick Lubin Arden +1.821s
5 Javier Sagrera Elite Motorsport +12.025s
6 Bart Horsten Hitech GP +13.034s
7 Christian Mansell Carlin +14.485s
8 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +14.650s
9 Alex Connor Arden +15.403s
10 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +17.902s
11 Bryce Aron Carlin +19.682s
12 Sebastian Alvarez Hitech GP +20.143s
13 Max Marzorati Chris Dittmann Racing +20.303s
14 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +21.581s
15 Jorge Garfias Elite Motorsport +22.136s
16 Reema Juffali Douglas Motorsport +22.269s
17 Dexter Patterson Douglas Motorsport +1m05.789s
Fastest lap: Lubin, 1m56.450s

Championship standings
1 O’Sullivan 136   2 Ushijima 131   3 Mansell 77   4 Horsten 77   5 Sagrera 77   6 Ollie Bearman 74   7 Faria 71   8 Lubin 71   9 Simmons 65   10 Aron 61