Home News Barter pips Tsolov in second Aragon Spanish F4 qualifying

Barter pips Tsolov in second Aragon Spanish F4 qualifying

by Peter Allen

Photo: Campos Racing

Hugh Barter pipped Nikola Tsolov by just 0.008 seconds to top second Spanish Formula 4 qualifying at Motorland Aragon and take pole for race three.

Championship leader Tsolov led the final five minutes of the session, improving from a 2m01.334s to a 2m00.856s, then finding another eight thousandths of a second just before the chequered flag.

At this point, Timoteusz Kucharzyck jumped up to second place at Barter’s expense, 0.061s from Tsolov.

Barter however managed to go quicker on his final effort to deny Campos Racing team-mate Tsolov, who he already beat to victory in race one on Saturday.

Kucharzyck’s MP Motorsport team-mates Valerio Rinicella and Kirill Smal took fourth and fifth.

In his first weekend since switching from Teo Martin Motorsport to Drivex, Daniel Nogales qualified sixth ahead of Christian Ho, Filip Jenic, Robert de Haan and Suleiman Zanfari.

A yellow flag after Daniel Mavlyutov stopped at Turn 7 impacted some drivers’ final flying laps.

Qualifying result
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 2m00.840s 8
2 Nikola Tsolov Campos Racing 2m00.848s +0.008s 8
3 Timoteusz Kucharzyck MP Motorsport 2m00.909s +0.069s 7
4 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport 2m01.057s +0.217s 8
5 Kirill Smal MP Motorsport 2m01.179s +0.339s 7
6 Daniel Nogales Drivex School 2m01.375s +0.535s 7
7 Christian Ho MP Motorsport 2m01.452s +0.612s 7
8 Filip Jenic Campos Racing 2m01.481s +0.641s 8
9 Robert de Haan Monlau Motorsport 2m01.503s +0.663s 7
10 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport 2m01.577s +0.737s 7
11 Georg Kelstrup Campos Racing 2m01.589s +0.749s 8
12 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing 2m01.591s +0.751s 8
13 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport 2m01.694s +0.854s 7
14 Vladislav Ryabov GRS 2m01.750s +0.910s 8
15 Bruno del Pino Drivex 2m01.771s +0.931s 7
16 Martinius Stenshorne Monlau Motorsport 2m01.787s +0.947s 8
17 Gael Julien Drivex School 2m01.837s +0.997s 7
18 Ricardo Escotto Cram Motorsport 2m01.921s +1.081s 8
19 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School 2m01.953s +1.113s 7
20 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport 2m02.029s +1.189s 7
21 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport 2m02.103s +1.263s 7
22 Max Mayer Formula de Campeones 2m02.107s +1.267s 8
23 Noah Lisle JHR Developments 2m02.201s +1.361s 7
24 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport 2m02.479s +1.639s 8
25 Manuel Espirito Santo Campos Racing 2m02.760s +1.920s 8
26 Alvaro Garcia Formula de Campeones 2m03.337s +2.497s 7
27 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing 2m03.787s +2.947s 7
28 Daniel Mavlyutov GRS 2m05.006s +4.166s 6