Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Barnard finishes ADAC F4 season with commanding win

Barnard finishes ADAC F4 season with commanding win

by Peter Allen

Photo: ADAC

Taylor Barnard won the final race of the ADAC Formula 4 season at the Nurburgring by a commanding margin over Ugo Ugochukwu.

On a track that was still damp in places but with cars starting on slicks, Barnard’s PHM Racing team-mate Valentin Kluss went from third to first on the run to the first corner only to go deep.

That allowed Ugochukwu, who started sixth, to take the lead and open up a sizeable early advantage of more than a second.

Barnard went from seventh to third on the first lap and then took second down the inside of Kluss in turn one before reeling in Ugochukwu, making his move at the chicane at the end of the fifth lap.

From there, Barnard opened up a six-second advantage as the championship runner-up took his fifth win of the season.

Ugochukwu was joined on the podium by Prema team-mate Rafael Camara, the Ferrari junior snatching the rookie title in the final race after contact with erstwhile classification leader Rasmus Joutsimies.

Camara had moved to the inside of Jenzer Motorsport driver Joutsimies at the final corner as they fought over fifth position in the early stages, with the slight contact between them causing Joutsimies to run wide and drop several places.

Under pressure from a trio of Prema cars, Kluss would surrender a podium position when he went deep once more at turn one, enabling Camara and James Wharton to slip by.

Having wrapped up the title in race two, Andrea Kimi Antonelli had a relatively subdued race, ultimately finishing sixth after battling with Nikita Bedrin and Kluss and being ordered by race control to let the former past.

Race result (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 14 laps
2 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema +6.139s
3 Rafael Camara Prema +9.904s
4 James Wharton Prema +11.118s
5 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +14.862s
6 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema +15.608s
7 Valentin Kluss PHM Racing +17.673s
8 Rasmus Joutsimies Jenzer Motorsport +18.198s
9 Michael Sauter Sauter Engineering+Design +25.038s
10 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Jenzer Motorsport +38.562s
11 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +46.739s
Fastest lap: Camara, 2m00.607s

Championship standings
Antonelli 313   2 Barnard 276   3 Camara 191   Bedrin 175   5 Wharton 146   6 Conrad Laursen 129   7 Charlie Wurz 111   8 Joutsimies 101   9 Ried 71   10 Kacper Sztuka 64