Home Formula 3Euroformula Barcelona test reveals clues about 2022 F3 and Euroformula line-ups

Barcelona test reveals clues about 2022 F3 and Euroformula line-ups

by Ida Wood

Photo: Matias Zagazeta

Teams from the FIA Formula 3 Championship, Euroformula, Formula Regional European Championship and Formula 4 tested at Barcelona at the start of this week.

The entry list for the two-day test gave some pretty big clues as to the 2022 line-ups of several teams, several of which Formula Scout understands are already all but confirmed.

There were two groups of cars for the test, with the old GP3 cars being run by F3 teams being partnered with Euroformula runners while FREC teams were sharing the track with Formula 4 cars.

On Monday there were five sessions for each, but fog cut out the morning running on Tuesday and limited that day to three sessions each.

Red Bull junior Jak Crawford kicked off day one on top for Prema, where he is believed to be moving to in F3 in 2022, while Carlin joined for session two and its GB3 champion Zak O’Sullivan set the pace. Crawford was back ahead in session three, while Jenzer Motorsport ran Kaylen Frederick to the top spot in the final two Monday sessions.

Brad Benavides, being coached by Facu Regalia, was fastest in Tuesday’s first session to run, and it was Frederick on top again thereon.

Hadrien David was in the third of Prema’s GP3 cars, although he is expected to remain in FREC and is in talks to become a Formula 1 junior.

There were several different drivers topping the Euroformula classifications in the test, with Motopark running six cars on day two when Matthias Luethen joined.

Paul Aron headed the way in the first FREC session, and is expected to sign with Prema for a third year in FRegional.

It was Van Amersfoort Racing duo Joshua Dufek and Kas Haverkort who were the combination to beat though, although Maceo Capietto did top a session.

SMP Racing organised for Kirill Smal and Irina Sidorkova to test with KIC Motorsport, and VAR’s old F4 chassis were also in action.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Kaylen Frederick Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.687s 131
2 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m32.015s +0.328s 101
3 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m32.046s +0.359s 102
4 Jak Crawford Prema 1m32.278s +0.591s 111
5 Hadrien David Prema 1m32.718s +1.031s 135
6 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m33.329s +1.642s 119
7 JM2 Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.080s +2.393s 98
1 Enzo Trulli Motopark 1m35.876s 125
2 Vlad Lomko Motopark 1m36.147s +0.271s 116
3 Filip Ugran Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.207s +0.331s 137
4 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.381s +0.505s 94
5 Oliver Goethe Motopark 1m36.416s +0.540s 123
6 Christian Mansell Motopark 1m36.514s +0.638s 97
7 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing 1m36.737s +0.861s 118
8 Frederick Lubin Motopark 1m37.065s +1.189s 112
9 Matthias Luethen Motopark 1m38.373s +2.497s 42
10 Paolo Brasnik PFM 1m40.406s +4.530s 51
1 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m40.365s 131
2 Paul Aron Prema 1m40.461s +0.096s 135
3 Kirill Smal KIC Motorsport 1m40.588s +0.223s 132
4 Maceo Capietto G4 Racing 1m40.589s +0.224s 132
5 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m40.607s +0.242s 124
6 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m41.209s +0.844s 137
7 Matias Zagazeta Prema 1m41.338s +0.973s 144
8 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m41.406s +1.041s 135
9 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m41.522s +1.157s 137
10 #2 KIC Motorsport 1m41.846s +1.481s 50
11 Irina Sidorkova KIC Motorsport 1m43.289s +2.933s 112
1 Robert De Haan Monlau Motorsport 1m47.007s 124
2 Eron Rexhepi Monlau Motorsport 1m47.195s +0.188s 136
3 #24 Jenzer Motorsport 1m48.135s +1.128s 54
4 #26 Jenzer Motorsport 1m50.276s +3.269s 36