Home Formula 3GB3 Ayrton Simmons seals lights-to-flag British F3 success at Spa

Ayrton Simmons seals lights-to-flag British F3 success at Spa

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Ayrton Simmons took a dominant victory in the third BRDC British Formula 3 race at Spa-Francorchamps as Clement Novalak extended his points lead once again.

Chris Dittmann Racing driver Simmons made a strong start from pole, leaving Ulysse de Pauw and Neil Verhagen to battle for second. Simmons rapidly extended his gap to the rest of the field, and was almost three seconds clear when Clement Novalak passed Verhagen for second late in the race.

Novalak immediately started to close the leader’s gap, lapping around half a second quicker than the race leader, but ran out of laps before he was close enough to challenge. The end margin between the two was 1.812 seconds, with Kiern Jewiss a similar distance behind.

Douglas Motorsport’s Jewiss was one of the fastes in the closing stages of the race. A line of cement dust ? on track to clear up after an accident in another category ? at the first corner provided a good overtaking opportunity, which Jewiss used to pass Fortec’s Manuel Maldonado for fourth, and then Verhagen at Les Combes on the same lap.

Hampus Ericsson led Double R Racing team-mate Verhagen home in fourth, with Maldonado completing the top five. Jewiss’s team-mate De Pauw was forced to pit early on after damage to his front wing endplate, and finished at the back of the field.

Sasakorn Chaimongkol and Jonathan Hoggard were fighting over seventh on the final lap when Chaimongkol span at the final corner. Hoggard came through to take the position, while Chaimongkol eventually recovered to cross the line 13th.


Race results (9 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing 21m05.296s
2 Clement Novalak Carlin +1.812s
3 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +3.540s
4 Hampus Ericsson Double R Racing +4.239s
5 Neil Verhagen Double R Racing +5.325s
6 Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports +6.242s
7 Johnathan Hoggard Fortec Motorsports +8.694s
8 Lucas Petersson Carlin +8.899s
9 Nico Varrone Hillspeed +14.052s
10 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +17.197s
11 Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing +17.573s
12 Andreas Estner Lanan Racing +21.098s
13 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +34.046s
14 Nazim Azman Chris Dittmann Racing +37.105s
15 Kris Wright Fortec Motorsports +43.398s
16 Kaylen Frederick Carlin +1m02.427s
17 Benjamin Pedersen Douglas Motorsport +1m17.837s
18 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport +2m09.211s
Fastest lap: Jewiss, 2m19.464s

Championship Standings
?Novalak 349? ?2 Hoggard 301? ?3 Simmons 277? ?4?Maldonado 223? ?5?Jewiss 214? ?6?Verhagen 213? ?7?De Pauw 199? ?8?Frederick 198? ?9?Ericsson 194? ?10?Pedersen 161