Home News Atoev cruises to maiden win at Alastaro

Atoev cruises to maiden win at Alastaro

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: SMP F4 Championship

Photo: SMP F4 Championship

Having claimed five podiums earlier in the inaugural SMP F4 season, Vladimir Atoev finally came through to secure a maiden victory in race one at Alastaro.

Starting from pole position, Atoev managed a clean getaway and held off points leader Niko Kari and Nerses Isaakyan in the early stages.

Soon enough, Kari started to lose pace, seemingly struggling with tyre wear, which allowed Atoev to easily pull away.

By the chequered flag, his lead was a monumental 6.7 seconds, yet Kari managed to hang on to second over Isaakyan despite the pace drop-off.

Alexey Korneev and MSA Formula regular Enaam Ahmed both caught up with the fight for second, but had to do with fourth and fifth respectively.

Niclas Nylund took sixth, ahead of the recovering Aleksanteri Huovinen, who fought through to seventh after sitting out qualifying with an engine issue.

Nikita Troitskiy, Ivan Matveev and Aleksander Maslennikov completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Time/Gap
1 Vladimir Atoev 22 laps in 26:47.266
2 Niko Kari +6.734
3 Nerses Isaakyan +7.659
4 Alexey Korneev +7.922
5 Enaam Ahmed +8.459
6 Niclas Nylund +12.070
7 Aleksanteri Huovinen +13.141
8 Nikita Troitskiy +14.440
9 Ivan Matveev +15.344
10 Aleksander Maslennikov +22.808
11 Simo Laaksonen +23.279
12 Semen Evstigneev +23.908
13 Nikita Sitnikov +24.280
14 Denis Mavlanov +25.162