Home Featured Arthur Leclerc claims maiden FIA F3 pole at Hungaroring

Arthur Leclerc claims maiden FIA F3 pole at Hungaroring

by Sam Williams

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Ferrari junior Arthur Leclerc has taken his maiden FIA Formula 3 Championship pole position at the Hungaroring.

Track position was crucial around the tight circuit when all 30 drivers were on track during qualifying, and in the first runs it was Campos’s Lorenzo Colombo who impressively led the pack followed by Trident’s Jack Doohan in second.

The drivers then headed to the pits, with it all still to play for going into the second part of the session and a top 17 separated by only one second on pace.

Leclerc would top the timesheet with an impressive pace in the second run, and Doohan was only 0.096 seconds shy of it.

In the final seconds he was demoted to third, as Leclerc’s points-leading Prema team-mate Dennis Hauger edged ahead by 0.007s with his final lap.

Doohan caught traffic on his final lap, denying him a shot at pole and means he shares row two of the race three grid with team-mate David Schumacher. Trident’s third Clement Novalak qualified just behind them in fifth.

Late improvements from ART Grand Prix’s Alexander Smolyar in sixth kept him just ahead of team-mate Frederick Vesti, while Charouz Racing System’s Logan Sargaent qualified eighth. Ollie Caldwell put Prema’s third car in ninth place.

Carlin’s Jonny Edgar will start from reversed grid pole in race one of the weekend due to finishing 12th. The British driver will share the front row with Colombo, who improved on his previous best qualifying performance of 18th to end up 11th fastest, while Hitech GP’s Ayumu Iwasa will start third after taking 10th in qualifying.

Leclerc will start 15th as he has a three-place grid penalty hanging over him from the previous round, and will take up his pole position slot in race three on Sunday.

Qualifying results

Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m33.164s 11
2 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m33.253s +0.089s 11
3 Jack Doohan Trident 1m33.260s +0.096s 12
4 David Schumacher Trident 1m33.284s +0.120s 12
5 Clement Novalak Trident 1m33.331s +0.167s 12
6 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m33.429s +0.265s 12
7 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m33.449s +0.285s 12
8 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m33.632s +0.468s 12
9 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m33.704s +0.540s 11
10 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m33.777s +0.613s 11
11 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m33.805s +0.641s 10
12 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m33.878s +0.714s 12
13 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m34.004s +0.840s 10
14 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m34.022s +0.858s 12
15 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m34.025s +0.861s 11
16 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.037s +0.873s 12
17 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m34.071s +0.907s 12
18 Jake Hughes Carlin 1m34.113s +0.949s 12
19 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m34.124s +0.960s 11
20 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m34.242s +1.078s 13
21 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m34.250s +1.086s 11
22 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m34.256s +1.092s 11
23 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.385s +1.221s 12
24 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m34.518s +1.354s 23
25 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m34.585s +1.421s 13
26 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m34.614s +1.450s 12
27 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m34.787s +1.623s 22
28 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m34.887s +1.723s 11
29 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m34.916s +1.752s 12
30 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.068s +1.904s 12