Home Featured Artem Petrov declared winner of first TRS race after delay

Artem Petrov declared winner of first TRS race after delay

by Ida Wood

Photo: Toyota Racing NZ

Nearly half a day after it finished, the winner of the first Toyota Racing Series at Hampton Downs has been declared.

The race itself was a replacement for the cancelled reversed grid encounter from last weekend’s Teretonga round, where weather ended the event early. To read Formula Scout’s full report prior to the results being announced, click here.

After several occasions of either safety cars or red flags, the race come down to what was supposed to be a two lap dash to the finish. What actually occurred was a collision between leaders Cameron Das and Liam Lawson collided as the race restarted, bringing it to an early end.

Artem Petrov crossed the line in first place before the red flags were waved, and was declared victor, with Marcus Armstrong in a delayed second after avoiding the crash that took place in front of him. Armstrong was then penalised for overtaking under yellow flags, dropping him to 10th.

Title rival Lawson was classified in seventh, while Das, who had led pretty much throughout, was deemed a non-finisher after several hours of deliberation.

The greatest beneficiaries of this were Petr Ptacek and Brendon Leitch, who ended up completing the podium despite finishing the race further down the latter, and for the latter having begun it at the back of the field after a grassy moment.

Dev Gore was handed fourth place, his best result yet in car racing, ahead of Asian Formula 3 champion Raoul Hyman, Petru Florescu, Lawson, Jackson Walls and Parker Locke.

Despite the frequent interruptions to racing and shortened lap count, full points were awarded as they would be for a reversed grid race, meaning M2 Competition’s Lawson leads team-mate Armstrong by three points. Hyman is a further 28 points behind, with Leitch and Petrov now filling the top five in the standings.


Race results (18 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Artem Petrov M2 Competition 23m22.223s
2 Petr Ptacek Giles Motorsport +0.051s
3 Brendon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +0.108s
4 Dev Gore Giles Motorsport +0.512s
5 Raoul Hyman Giles Motorsport +0.604s
6 Petru Florescu MTEC Motorsport +0.933s
7 Liam Lawson M2 Competition +1.022s
8 Jackson Walls MTEC Motorsport +1.328s
9 Parker Locke Victory Motor Racing +1.554s
10 Marcus Armstrong M2 Competition +10.374s
11 Kazuto Kotaka MTEC Motorsport +1m02.645s
12 Thomas Smith Giles Motorsport +3 laps
13 Lucas Auer M2 Competition +4 laps
Ret Esteban Muth M2 Competition
Ret Cameron Das M2 Competition
Ret Calan Williams MTEC Motorsport
Fastest lap: Das, 1m01.327s

Championship standings
1?Lawson 122? ?2 Armstrong 119? ?3 Hyman 91? ?4?Leitch 88? ?5 Petrov 79? ?6?Auer 76? ?7 Ptacek 75? ?8 Das 66? ?9 Muth 58? ?10 Williams 53