Home Featured ART Grand Prix sets test pace on Formula Renault Eurocup return

ART Grand Prix sets test pace on Formula Renault Eurocup return

by Ida Wood

ART Grand Prix set the fastest time on its first day back in Formula Renault Eurocup action in the Valencia Ricardo Tormo pre-season test.

Victor Martins topped the second and fourth sessions of the opening day of running for the team, with a late flyer putting him 0.443 seconds clear of the opposition.

Lorenzo Colombo, Martin’s Eurocup team-mate at MP Motorsport last year, was second fastest for Bhaitech and set the pace in the other two sessions. He also challenged Martins when the track was at its fastest at the end of the day, sitting on top of the timesheet for some time before Martins’ stunning late effort.

ART’s other two drivers Paul Aron and Gregoire Saucy ended the day third and sixth fastest, with Mercedes Formula 1 junior Aron top of the rookie classification by other a third of a second.

Reigning champion team R-ace GP didn’t look as quick, with expected title contender Caio Collet 0.65s behind Martins in fourth.

He pipped Amaury Cordeel to the spot, who ‘moved’ from MP to the FA Racing team that is now being run by Manor Competition – which split from future F1 team Manor Motorsport in 2007 and has raced in FR2.0 in the past in addition to engineering several of MP’s current racing programmes.

M2 Competition’s Mikhael Belov was the last driver within a second of the pace in seventh place, with JD Motorsport duo William Alatalo and Tommy Smith and Arden’s Ugo de Wilde closely packed in eighth to 10th places.

Lazslo Toth set the most laps of anyone for Bhaitech, recording 83 over the four sessions. The MP and Manor cars covered the least, with FA Racing’ Tijmen van der Helm only able to set a lap during the first session. MP’s fastest driver was Hadrien David in 11th.


Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m29.279s 68
2 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 1m29.722s +0.443s 61
3 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m29.873s +0.594s 70
4 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m29.929s +0.650s 65
5 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 1m29.940s +0.661s 57
6 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m30.037s +0.758s 40
7 Mikhael Belov M2 Competition 1m30.265s +0.986s 65
8 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m30.499s +1.220s 73
9 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m30.538s +1.259s 52
10 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m30.539s +1.260s 64
11 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m30.675s +1.396s 52
12 Alessandro Ghiretti MP Motorsport 1m30.713s +1.434s 46
13 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m30.725s +1.446s 83
14 Kush Maini R-ace GP 1m30.792 +1.513s 71
15 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 1m30.898s +1.619s 67
16 Xavier Lloveras Global Racing Service 1m30.938s +1.659s 66
17 Alex Quinn MP Motorsport 1m30.983s +1.704s 56
18 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m31.033s +1.754s 58
19 Jackson Walls Arden 1m31.254s +1.975s 51
20 Marta Garcia FA Racing by Manor 1m31.609s +2.330s 57
21 Reshad de Gerus Arden 1m31.724s +2.445s 50
22 Reece Ushijima M2 Competition 1m31.737s +2.458s 69
23 Matthias Luethen Global Racing Service 1m31.840s +2.561s 77
24 Belen Garcia Global Racing Service 1m32.126s +2.857s 63
25 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 1m37.412s +8.133s 8