Home Featured Aron resists pressure from David to win in FREC at Zandvoort

Aron resists pressure from David to win in FREC at Zandvoort

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: Diederik van der Laan / Dutch Photo Agency

Prema’s Paul Aron held off a race-long challenge from Hadrien David to take victory in the opening race of the Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine round at Zandvoort.

Starting from pole the Mercedes-AMG junior survived a late safety car to take the flag 0.8 seconds ahead of his rival.

Aron jumped into an immediate lead ahead of fellow front row starter, David, and initially was able to build up and maintain a constant gap of around seven-tenths of a second.

In the middle section of the race, David was able to close onto Aron’s tail and as they braked for Tarzan for the tenth time was right in his wheel tracks. However, the Alpine affiliate was never quite able to attempt a passing manoeuvre and had to settle for second.

The leaders were able to pull out a gap on the battling duo of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort and ART GP’s Gabriele Mini. The Dutch driver got the jump on Mini at the start to take third but was never able to pull away.

Mini seemed to have the edge on speed and spent most of the race glued to Haverkort’s gearbox, but despite several attempts to go around the outside at Tarzan could find no way through.

Championship leader Dino Beganovic held a watching brief behind the pair but was never within striking range.

Joshua Dufek had his strongest race so far in FREC and secured sixth place, and rookie honours, with a finely-judged move on Victor Bernier at the safety car restart.

Mari Boya fought back to seventh after dropping back to ninth on the opening lap, finishing one place ahead of Prema’s Sebastian Montoya.

Watched trackside by his father, multiple Grand Prix and Indianapolis 500 winner Juan-Pablo, Montoya had initially run in the top six before a brief off on lap 7 dropped him down the order.

An incident for RPM’s Keith Donegan at Turn 2 on lap 16 brought out the safety car for the only time bunching up the field for a final sprint to the flag.

Race result
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Paul Aron Prema 20 laps
2 Hadrien David R-ace GP +0.793s
3 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +2.314s
4 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +2.808s
5 Dino Beganovic Prema +3.292s
6 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +4.079s
7 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix +4.946s
8 Sebastian Montoya Prema +6.658s
9 Michael Belov MP Motorsport +6.975s
10 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +7.897s
11 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP +8.910s
12 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M +9.249s
13 Roman Bilinski Trident +9.637s
14 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport +10.831s
15 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP +10.930s
16 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP +11.113s
17 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing +11.151s
18 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing +11.501s
19 Eduardo Barrichello Arden +12.225s
20 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +12.284s
21 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing +12.648s
22 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing +12.953s
23 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport +13.721s
24 Noel Leon Arden +14.208s
25 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +15.275s
26 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport +15.980s
27 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP +16.505s
28 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing +16.702s
29 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport +17.465s
30 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema +17.850s
31 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing +18.193s
Ret Keith Donegan R-P-M
Ret Tim Tramnitz Trident
Ret Joshua Duerksen Arden
Ret Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP
Fastest lap: David, 1m32.175s

Championship standings
 Beganovic 157   2 Mini 114   3 Aron 113   4 David 112   5 Haverkort 94   6 Belov 81   7 Bortoleto 69   Boya 62   9 Montoya 24   10 Fluxa 23