Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Aron quickest in FREC’s chaotic Zandvoort practice

Aron quickest in FREC’s chaotic Zandvoort practice

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: FRECA

Paul Aron was fastest across two chaotic Formula Regional Europe practice sessions at Zandvoort on Friday.

Aron topped the morning session after a red flag brought running to a premature close. His best lap, a 1m31.488s, was 0.353 seconds faster than MP Motorsport’s Michael Belov in second position.

ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini had been fastest during the first runs, just ahead of the local combination of Kas Haverkort and Van Amersfoort Racing. The session was interrupted for the first time while the leading runners in the pits.

Action resumed with 16 minutes still on the clock but neither Mini nor Haverkort were able to improve in the remaining green flag laps, dropping to eighth and ninth at the end.

The Prema quartet were the last to take to the track, having returned to the pits after an initial installation lap but championship leader Dino Beganovic and team-mate Aron were immediately on the pace. Beganovic, fifth fastest as the drivers returned to the pits ahead of their second runs, managed to move up to fourth in the closing stages, behind ART GP’s Mari Boya.

Sami Meguetounif showed MP Motorsport’s speed by finishing as fastest rookie in fifth place overall.

Arden’s drivers had been among those to set the early pace but by the end were 10th, 11th and 14th, with Noel Leon edging Joshua Duerksen by just 0.035s. No laptimes were set by Lena Buhler, Cenyu Han or Santiago Ramos.

FP2 in the afternoon also had red flag interruptions, and Aron was on top early on. The session was stopped when Meguetounif crashed into G4 Racing’s Matias Zagazeta some time after Zagazeta had blocked him on track.

Hadrien David went fastest after the restart, and stayed in first place until the final two minutes when Haverkort bettered him by 0.203s. Several other drivers improved in the next 60 seconds before another red flag that brought the session to an end.

Additional reporting by Ida Wood

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Paul Aron Prema 1m31.488s 35
2 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.719s +0.231s 24
3 Michael Belov MP Motorsport 1m31.841s +0.353s 34
4 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m31.856s +0.368s 33
5 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m31.907s +0.419s 30
6 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m31.922s +0.434s 22
7 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m32.016s +0.528s 24
8 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m32.037s +0.549s 34
9 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m32.155s +0.667s 22
10 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m32.171s +0.683s 33
11 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m32.223s +0.735s 24
12 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m32.279s +0.791s 25
13 Noel Leon Arden 1m32.284s +0.796s 36
14 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m32.291s +0.803s 24
15 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.367s +0.879s 27
16 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m32.373s +0.885s 24
17 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m32.418s +0.930s 33
18 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m32.474s +0.986s 32
19 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m32.481s +0.993s 27
20 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m32.534s +1.046s 35
21 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m32.625s +1.137s 25
22 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing 1m32.698s +1.210s 31
23 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m32.722s +1.234s 21
24 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport 1m32.828s +1.340s 24
25 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m33.019s +1.531s 16
26 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m33.050s +1.562s 22
27 Nicolas Baptsite FA Racing by MP 1m33.081s +1.593s 32
28 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m33.134s +1.646s 33
29 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m33.229s +1.741s 14
30 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.417s +1.929s 23
31 Keith Donegan R-P-M 1m33.427s +1.939s 28
32 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m33.465s +1.977s 34
33 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m33.514s +2.026s 15
34 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m33.735s +2.247s 31
35 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing 1m33.909s +2.421s 17
36 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m34.014s +2.526s 12