Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Aron dominates but Beganovic seals FREC title at Mugello

Aron dominates but Beganovic seals FREC title at Mugello

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: Diederik van der Laan / DPPA

Paul Aron maintained his perfect Mugello record in the Formula Regional European Championship with a dominant lights-to-flag victory, but it was team-mate Dino Beganovic who was crowned champion.

Beganovic held on to finish fourth in the penultimate race of the season, despite a late challenge from Leonardo Fornaroli.

Victor Bernier converted his front row start into a superb second place for FA Racing, the Frenchman having acknowledged to Formula Scout before the race that a podium was his target given Aron’s formidable pace.

Aron made a perfect start and quickly extended his lead over Bernier, who defended forcefully to keep Beganovic behind him on the run down to San Donato on lap one, edging the Swede onto the kerbs on the pit exit.

The Ferrari junior was able to close the gap to Bernier to just over 0.3s but never came close enough to risk a move, particularly with the title at stake.

Behind them, Van Amersfoort Racing’s Joshua Dufek swiftly demoted his rookie classification rival Fornaroli to take fourth.

Further back, Gabriel Bortoleto, Kas Haverkort, Hadrien David and Gabriele Mini were looking to make up positions, with Mini being particularly aggressive as he moved through. The ART Grand Prix driver found his way past David through turns four and five on lap seven.

Once past Haverkort, Mini quickly hauled in Bortoleto, the two battling hard for position. Bortoleto ran wide but Mini was unable to get past before the two finally tangled, sending Bortoleto into the barriers and Mini into the pits and retirement, having lost his front wing.

The resulting safety car cost Aron his 3.9s lead over Bernier. As the safety car came in with three minutes plus a lap remaining, Aron deliberately left his restart to the last second, causing confusion in the pack.

He was immediately away and clear but Dufek took the chance to pass Beganovic for third on the run into San Donato. Dufek was unable to challenge Bernier for the rookie victory, while rookie championship leader Fornaroli tried everything to get ahead of Beganovic to join the fight.

However the Swede, needing fourth to take the title with a race remaining, held off the Trident driver’s challenge to take the flag and the championship, irrespective of the outcome of the appeal into his Paul Ricard exclusion.

Haverkort managed to depose Maceo Capietto from sixth on the final lap, but the Monolite driver held on to take a deserved seventh despite running wide as a result.

David, Arden’s Joshua Duerksen and Laurens van Hoepen, up from 18th on the grid, completed the top 10.

Race results (17 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Paul Aron Prema 32m43.753s
2 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP +3.486s
3 Joshua Dufek VAR +3.644s
4 Dino Beganovic Prema +4.543s
5 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +4.839s
6 Kas Haverkort VAR +5.861s
7 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing +6.947s
8 Hadrien David R-ace GP +8.025s
9 Joshua Duerksen Arden +8.386s
10 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +9.065s
11 Tim Tramnitz Trident +9.891s
12 Sebastian Montoya Prema +10.419s
13 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP +11.018s
14 Pierre-Louis Chovet R-P-M +11.063s
15 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP +12.339s
16 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport +12.471s
17 Mari Boya MP Motorsport +13.249s
18 Santiago Ramos R-P-M +13.450s
19 Esteban Masson ART Grand Prix +14.134s
20 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport +14.663s
21 Roman Bilinski Trident +15.850s
22 William Alatalo KIC Motorsport +16.488s
23 Eduardo Barrichello Arden +16.921s
24 Noel Leon Arden +17.250s
25 Levente Revesz VAR +18.703s
26 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +19.208s
27 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport +19.794s
28 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing +20.042s
29 Nicola Marinangeli Monolite Racing +20.202s
30 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing +20.729s
31 Sebastian Ogaard KIC Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix
Ret Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP
Ret Amna Al Qubaisi Prema
Ret Francesco Braschi FA Racing by MP
Ret Owen Tangavelou R-P-M
Fastest lap: Mini, 1m45.121s

Championship standings
1 Beganovic 267   2 Aron 241   3 Mini 217   4 David 212   5 Haverkort 185   6 Bortoleto 158   7 Michael Belov 93   8 Fornaroli 78   9 Boya 69   10 Dufek 73