Home Featured Aron completes flawless FREC weekend with dominant win at Zandvoort

Aron completes flawless FREC weekend with dominant win at Zandvoort

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: Sebastiaan Rozendaal / Dutch Photo Agency

Prema’s Paul Aron took his second lights-to-flag victory of the weekend in the Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine at Zandvoort with a commanding drive.

The Mercedes-AMG junior finished over six seconds ahead of ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini to move into second place in the championship standings.

Aron took an immediate lead at the start from fellow front row starter Dino Beganovic, as Mini jumped up to third from fifth ahead of a slow starting Montoya.

The race was suspended after a crash involving RPM’s Pietro Delli Guanti and FA Racing’s Esteban Masson on the second lap at the banked Hugenholtzbocht, requiring the deployment of the course medical services. Delli Guanti’s car appeared to have cleared the inside barrier, but both drivers were understood to be unhurt.

After a lengthy stoppage, Aron immediately pulled away from his pursuers while behind him Mini pulled onto the tail of second-placed Beganovic. As the duo battled, Aron simply extended his lead further and his victory was never in doubt.

On lap 14 Mini got a run on the Ferrari junior into Tarzan driving round the outside in a perfectly-judged move to take second place, although Aron had already built up an unassailable a gap in front.

In the later stages, Beganovic came under pressure from team-mate Montoya, who himself headed a group comprising the Trident pair of Leonardo Fornaroli and Tim Tramnitz, R-ace GP’s Hadrien David and Michael Belov for MP Motorsport.

Montoya managed to defend his position to take fourth and rookie honours with some late braking into Tarzan. For the second time of the weekend Tramnitz finished his race in the pits after an incident with David, who dropped behind Belov at the finish.

Having put in an excellent qualifying lap to start tenth, Monolite’s Maceo Capietto was vigorous in his defence of his hard-won position against R-ace GP’s Gabriel Bortoleto. The Brazilian eventually found a way past to take eighth at the flag with Capietto following him home in ninth.

Roman Bilinski made a desperate last-lap effort to pass Mari Boya into Tarzan, locking up on entry and touching wheels on the exit of the corner, letting VAR’s Joshua Dufek through to take the final points position.

Much of the race’s excitement came in the lower half of the order as Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort and Arden’s Joshua Duerksen fought their way through the field after earlier problems.

Haverkort was forced to pit at the end of the first lap to replace his front wing after running into the back of Montoya at the first corner. Rejoining in last place, the Dutchman was flying, executing some last-minute overtaking moves as he recovered to 15th at the flag.

Duerksen had been unable to complete a single lap in qualifying with a recurrence of the electrical problem that had ruined his first race. From the back of the grid, he was also on the move, as he fought through to finish three places behind Haverkort.

Race result
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Paul Aron Prema 21 laps
2 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +6.311s
3 Dino Beganovic Prema +7.221s
4 Sebastian Montoya Prema +8.535s
5 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +8.749s
6 Michael Belov MP Motorsport +11.706s
7 Hadrien David R-ace GP +12.179s
8 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP +13.698s
9 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing +19.344s
10 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +20.724s
11 Roman Bilinski Trident +21.360s
12 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix +21.708s
13 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP +25.940s
14 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP +26.704s
15 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +29.100s
16 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport +30.528s
17 Noel Leon Arden +31.654s
18 Joshua Duerksen Arden +31.970s
19 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing +32.658s
20 Eduardo Barrichello Arden +34.416s
21 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing +35.021s
22 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +35.188s
23 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport +35.493s
24 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport +38.014s
25 Keith Donegan R-P-M +38.724s
26 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing +39.363s
27 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport +39.606s
28 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP +43.346s
29 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema +46.641s
30 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing +48.342s
31 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +54.910s
32 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing +57.390s
Ret Tim Tramnitz Trident
Ret Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP
Ret Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M
Fastest lap: Aron, 1m31.980s

Championship standings
 Beganovic 174   2 Aron 138   3 Mini 135   4 David 100   5 Haverkort 97   6 Belov 91   7 Bortoleto 73   Boya 64   9 Montoya 38   10 Fornaroli 25