Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Antonio Fuoco dominant in race one at Monza

Antonio Fuoco dominant in race one at Monza

by Luis Miguel Martinez

Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Having added yet another pole position to his already dominant campaign in his rookie Formula Renault 2.0 Alps season, championship leader Antonio Fuoco subsequently converted his Spa pole into a win as his teammates Bruno Bonifacio and Luca Ghiotto completed the podium, making it the second Prema 1-2-3 in a row.

At the start, there were problems in the middle of the pack when Luke Chudleigh spun out in turn one, which set up a collision between Jakub Dalewski and Daniele Cazzaniga. The collision triggered a safety car period, which came as a relief for Egor Orudzhev who made a great recovery? and, despite the ten-place grid penalty, put in a good drive to eventually finish fourth.

Hans Villemi took fifth with Joffrey De Narda managing sixth, after he pulled a late overtake on Kevin Jorg. Eighth place was taken by Dario Capitanio, getting his first points since his seventh place in the opening round at Vallelunga.

Ninth was for Simon Tirman and Kevin Gilardoni completed the top 10.

“It was quite emotional crossing the finish line in first place here in Monza. All the best drivers in car racing history were protagonists here and this gives a special feeling to my win.” said race-winner Fuoco.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam 13 laps in 28:39.656
2 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +1.759
3 Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam +3.079
4 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +5.136
5 Hans Villemi SMP Racing by Koiranen +12.501
6 Joffrey De Narda ARTA Engineering +17.792
7 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport +18.593
8 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing +25.330
9 Simon Tirman ARTA Engineering +27.490
10 Kevin Gilardoni GSK Grand Prix +28.129
11 Francisco Mora Interwetten.com Racing +28.897
12 Kuba Dalewski JD Motorsport +29.807
13 Alejandro Abogado Interwetten.com Racing +30.724
14 Francisco Amado Euronova Racing +31.585
15 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova Racing +33.069
16 Denis Korneev Jenzer Motorsport +37.388
17 Parth Ghorpade BVM Racing +37.692
18 Alex Bosak SMP Racing by Koiranen +38.726
19 Semen Evstigneev SMP Racing by Koiranen +39.258
20 Daniele Cazzaniga Viola Formula Racing +39.991
21 Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing +45.762
22 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse +51.431
23 Juan Branger JD Motorsport +51.497
24 Dzhon Simonyan GSK Grand Prix +1:31.510
25 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +2 laps
Not classified
Konstantin Tereshchenko Interwetten.com Racing +9 laps
Nikita Zlobin SMP Racing by Koiranen +10 laps
Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing +11 laps
Andrew Tang Jenzer Motorsport +11 laps
Gregor Ramsay Euronova Racing +11 laps