Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Afiq Ikhwan increases championship lead with Ordos win

Afiq Ikhwan increases championship lead with Ordos win

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Making the best of his front row start for race one of the Ordos round, Malaysian driver Afiq Ikhwan took his fourth win of the 2013 Formula Masters China season, increasing his lead in the championship.

Ikhwan, who was suffering from a fever in qualifying, narrowly bested poleman Akash Nandy, who came in second, beating out Indian driver Raj Bharath.

Series guest and Formula Renault 2.0 Alps regular Tanart Sathienthirakul took fourth, with Ren Nagabuchi finishing behind the Thai driver. Ikhwan’s teammate Aidan Wright reached the checkered flag in sixth, with Matthew Solomon taking seventh.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Afiq Ikhwan Meritus GP 20:49.693
2 Akash Nandy KCMG +3.156
3 Raj Bharath Meco Motorsport +3.948
4 Tanart Sathienthirakul Eurasia Motorsport +5.627
5 Ren Nagabuchi Super License +6.239
6 Aidan Wright Meritus GP +9.270
7 Matthew Solomon Eurasia Motorsport +18.373
8 Yuan Bo Star Racing Team +20.676
9 Zou Si Rui Star Racing Team +32.482
10 Pu Jun Jin Eurasia Motorsport +34.805
11 Ronald Wu KCMG +36.034
12 Bao Jin Long Star Racing Team +37.188
13 Andrea Reggiani Andrea Reggiani +1:21.012
Not classified
Yin Hai Tao Super License
Wu Zhou Super License
Zou Chen Yu Star Racing Team