Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Antonelli dominates first ADAC F4 race at Hockenheim

Antonelli dominates first ADAC F4 race at Hockenheim

by Peter Allen

Photo: ADAC

Mercedes junior Andrea Kimi Antonelli cruised to victory in the first ADAC Formula 4 race of round two at Hockenheim.

The Prema kept the lead from pole position at the start and was able to escape as team-mate Rafael Camara scrapped with PHM Racing’s Taylor Barnard over second place.

Barnard got ahead of Camara on the first lap before the Ferrari academy driver took the position back into the hairpin on lap three.

Camara could do nothing about Antonelli, who continued to pull away and eventually won by 6.614 seconds.

Barnard finished third after defending his position from Charlie Wurz on the last lap.

Martinius Stenshorne was Van Amersfoort Racing’s lead finisher on its delayed ADAC F4 season debut in fifth place. He was comfortably clear of James Wharton, who finished with Jonas Ried on his tail.

Arias Deukmedjian came from 14th on the grid to finish ninth for VAR, just behind Conrad Laursen, with team-mate Brando Badoer seeing off the mid-race challenges of Jenzer Motorsport’s Rasmus Joutsimies and privateer Michael Sauter to take 10th.

Race result
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 18 laps
2 Rafael Camara Prema +6.614s
3 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +8.422s
4 Charlie Wurz Prema +8.890s
5 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing +9.762s
6 James Wharton Prema +16.570s
7 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +17.013s
8 Conrad Laursen Prema +21.143s
9 Arias Deukmedjian Van Amersfoort Racing +21.681s
10 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing +25.813s
11 Rasmus Joutsimies Jenzer Motorsport +28.029s
12 Michael Sauter Sauter Engineering + Design +32.672s
13 Nikhil Bohra US Racing +33.165s
14 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport +35.512s
15 Emerson Fittipaldi Jr Van Amersfoort Racing +37.475s
16 Alfio Spina BWR Motorsports +38.222s
17 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing +39.476s
18 Chris Rosenkranz BWR Motorsports +44.833s
Ret Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing
Ret Oleksandr Partyshev Jenzer Motorsport
DNS Marcus Amand US Racing
Fastest lap: Antonelli, 1m42.320s

Championship standings
Antonelli 87   2 Camara 79   3 Wurz 37   4 Barnard 31   5 Laursen 31   Kacper Sztuka 30   7 Wharton 27   Amand 22   9 Bedrin 20   10 Ried 14