Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Amweg beats Panis to take Formula Renault NEC win

Amweg beats Panis to take Formula Renault NEC win

by Gruz David
Photo: FR2.0 NEC

Photo: FR2.0 NEC

19-year-old ART Junior Team Levin Amweg driver celebrated his first victory in Formula Renault racing at Silverstone in the first race of the Formula Renault NEC weekend.

Starting from second, the Swiss driver jumped polesitter Aurelien Panis to take the lead and kept his position till the checkered flag, despite being closely followed by his French squadmate throughout the whole race.

The podium was completed by BMW junior driver Jake Hughes after a clam, trouble-free race from the Briton.

Gustav Malja held on to fourth ahead of Steijn Schothorst, with the Dutchman having pulled off two on-the-road overtakes to get to fifth.

RSF-backed Ben Barnicoat passed compatriot passed Seb Morris for sixth, with the Caterham junior then spinning out while attempting to take the place back.

Barnicoat finished in that very position, while rest of the top ten was completed by Raoul Owens, Callan O’Keeffe, Matthew Graham and Ukyo Sasahara.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team 11 laps
2 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team +0.548
3 Jake Hughes Mark Burdett Motorsport +6.081
4 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +8.205
5 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +8.519
6 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports +12.866
7 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport +18.091
8 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team +18.793
9 Matthew Graham AVF +18.954
10 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova +19.288
11 Stefan Riener MGR Motorsport +21.427
12 Roy Geerts AVF +22.357
13 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +22.835
14 Seb Morris Fortec Motorsports +23.291
15 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +25.213
16 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport +29.726
17 Jorge Cevallos Fortec Motorsports +30.560
18 Patrick Freiburghaus SL Formula Racing +33.517
19 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport +36.557
20 Philippe Morin Manor MP Motorsport +37.883
21 Josef Zaruba AVF +51.140
22 Lassi Halminen PositiOne +52.404
23 Nicholas Surguladze AVF +1:03.385
24 Max Biedermann Inter Europol +1:29.511
Not classified
Leopold Ringbom PositiOne Motorsport +5 laps
Robert Siska Inter Europol +11 laps